Unable to change notification ringtoneSupport


Last Updated:

  1. dendeze

    dendeze New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I have done a quick search but didn't found my problem.

    Since the beginning that i had my phone i had a standard notification tone.
    But last week i wanted to change it to my old tone from my older phones.

    I searched the internet and did the following:
    1-downloaded the app 'ringo ...'
    2-downloaded the app 'rings extended'
    3- changed sdcard tree structure to
    Alarms
    Ringtones
    Notifications
    4- changed sdcard tree structure to
    media/sound/ringtone
    media/sound/notification

    All solutions failed.
    solution 2 played my new tone and my old one at once so this one actually came the closed.

    But then i thought, something is wrong here... so i changed my notification tone to the standard 'beatbox' ... but still it remained my old nitification tone...

    Anyone had this problem before and know how to remedy it ?

    thx,
    CJ
     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210

    Try the creating the following folders:
    in the root of the sdcard so you will have the following directories

    /sdcard/alarms
    /sdcard/ringtones
    /sdcard/notifications
    /sdcard/ui

    Then add your sounds to the appropriate folders and they should then appear where the default ones do for all apps and settings ...
     
  3. dendeze

    dendeze New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    thx for the reply,

    I'll try it as soon as possible.

    The problem is not that i don't see the new tones, it is just that my G1 want play any. If i select one, he still plays the first sound i ever selected on my G1.

    At the moment 'Beatbox' is selected in my phone but he still plays 'Viola' sound...
     
  4. Wormy

    Wormy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Have the Moto Droid for verizon so i dont know if this will help you.

    But I plugged in to the USB and mounted the droid as a storage device then created a folder called ringtones and one called notifications. Any MP3's placed into these folders will show up for the respective ring area.

    OS is Andriod 2.0 Eclair
     
  5. Wormy

    Wormy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I apologize for not reading the whole thread before posting my reply. but justjimjpc already had listed this information.
     
  6. Trixaan

    Trixaan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got the same problem on my x10 mini pro...have u fixed it yet?

    peace
     

Share This Page

Loading...