Unable to downgrade to 2.27.651.5 (CDMA Hero)


Last Updated:

  1. zkirkpatrick

    zkirkpatrick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a CDMA Sprint HTC Hero running 2.27.651.6

    If I have read the FAQ/Stickies/Walkthroughs correctly the first step in rooting my phone is to downgrade it to 2.27.651.5.

    I downloaded and attempted to run "RUU_Hero_C_Sprint_2.27.651.5_R_signed_release" however it doesn't complete. The program is "Waiting for Bootloader" for about 80 seconds and then fails with "ERROR [171]: USB CONNECTION ERROR".

    I am able to hear the Win7 sound effect of my device being disconnected when the program says "Rebooting Device" and I hear another sound effect right after it, like it is trying to reconnect the phone to my PC but the sound is different. I think something may be wrong when the device attempts to reconnect to the PC.

    At this point my phone is connected to the PC via USB and the phone is now stalled on the black screen with white "HTC" logo. If I unplug the USB cord at this point I get the white screen with skateboarding Androids at the bottom (which I assume is the bootloader). The following text is at the top of the screen:
    At this point I need to remove the battery to restart the phone.

    I've started this downgrade process with connection type set to "Charge Only" and "Disk Drive" with the same result.


    Any help via this forum or AIM (zdkirkp) would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. zkirkpatrick

    zkirkpatrick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Read all the way to the bottom of the ReadMe that comes with the RUU and saw that it recommended to restart the PC if Error 171 occurs. Tried this as well, no change.
     
  3. zkirkpatrick

    zkirkpatrick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Reinstalling Android SDK on computer. Based on google forum results it seems it may be a driver issue.

    *Not trying to bump my own thread, just trying to keep it updated should someone come to help out. If this is an issue please let me know and I will discontinue posting updates.
     
  4. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    Can you still boot up your phone with the stock .6 build? Or are you unable to use your phone at all?
     
  5. zkirkpatrick

    zkirkpatrick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Phone is currently unaffected, boots and performs as normal.
     
  6. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    Try rooting your phone with this method. It is much easier and you don't have to downgrade.
     
  7. zkirkpatrick

    zkirkpatrick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Awesome, trying this now. I was kinda wondering where the one-click roots were for this firmware. Kinda thought I borked myself into a difficult root because of the 2.1 upgrade.

    I'll post again after I give this a go.
     
  8. zkirkpatrick

    zkirkpatrick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    So it seems this worked however I'm not sure where to go from here. How do I confirm that the phone is rooted now?
     
  9. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    Where you wanna go is up to you, but I would first download "Rom Manager" and flash the Clockwork Recovery that is on it. That is if the one-click method didn't install an RA. However, if you install Rom manager and can flash the clockwork recovery, then you are rooted.
     
  10. zkirkpatrick

    zkirkpatrick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    At this point I have not yet done a Nandroid backup (same as clockwork recovery?), and am not quite sure how to perform it. Obviously its not a necessity, but something I'd like to do just in case I somehow manage to semi-brick my phone...
     
  11. zkirkpatrick

    zkirkpatrick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Successfully flashed ClockworkMod Recovery
     
  12. zkirkpatrick

    zkirkpatrick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Alright, used ROM Manager to perform a backup of my current ROM (stock ROM). Is this the same as a Nandroid backup? Am I good to go and start really messing this phone up?
     
  13. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I don't think you can backup current rom (meaning stock). You will have to reboot into recovery and perform the nandroid there.

    After you flash a custom rom, then you can use that option of 'backup current rom'
     
  14. zkirkpatrick

    zkirkpatrick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    I got it all goin now. Was a bit confused when I didn't have a Market to install from, but I found the download for that already.

    Now I really just need to find all the best apps and learn the cool stuff i can do now that its rooted. Feel free to point me in the right direction if you have the time!
     
  15. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Just have to figure what rom you want, AOSP or Sense UI. Look here on the android forums and you should find the link for any rom:)

    Remember, nandroid, nandroid, nandroid. It may save you some day;)
     
  16. zkirkpatrick

    zkirkpatrick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    AOSP or Sense UI?

    EDIT: this is just the theme of the phone correct? Are there any apps that are particular to either rom?
     
  17. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    AOSP roms are stock roms without the HTC Sense UI: CM6, Darchdroid 2.8...

    Sense UI roms are with the HTC Sense (like your stock 2.1 phone with Sense UI): Zen roms, Fresh 2.4.0, RC1 2.2.1 (nfinite)...

    If you like the Sense UI, go with one of those roms (fresh 2.3.3 or 2.4.0 is good first rom)

    Have questions about a specific rom? I would try and find that specific rom thread in these forums, people will have better answers for your questions if you run into trouble
     
  18. zkirkpatrick

    zkirkpatrick Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok i understand now.

    I already installed CM6 and am quite happy with it so far
     
  19. johnny124

    johnny124 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    24
    Can i do all this on the hero or do i need the computer?
    Sorry i am new and would like to root but completely computer and phone ignorant. I welcome the one touch root if you guys think someone like me could do it.
     
  20. jwpilly

    jwpilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    30
    People have made it to where you really don't need a pc. Certain apps like Rom manager, root explorer, and terminal emulator make that possible.
     
  21. SupaSqueegie

    SupaSqueegie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to downgrade my HTC Hero CDMA from 2.31 to 2.27? I had to RUU back to sense when I did an ESN swap and I was unaware of the root block patch so I just did 2.31. Now I can't root it for the life of me. I have tried using this method:

    [ROOT] Easy Root, works with any Stock ROM (Including 2.31.651.7!) - xda-developers

    I have tried using AndRoot, Super Oneclick and another ADB push method.

    I have also tried rooting with z4root. Temp root works fine until I reset, If I try to perma root with Z4 root it gets to the "Rebooting...." phase and doesnt ever leave from that page. I have rooted plenty of phones as well as this one before but never had this much hassle. Am I missing something?

    I even went as far as to reflash the 2.31 RUU just to set everything BACK from all the root attempts, then open Z4 root and no bueno.

    In order to downgrade I've tried the "Goldcard" method as well as running older RUU.exe files. Can anyone please point me in the right direction? I've already went through faq's and searched all over, nobody ever has a response besides "try z4 root mine worked", obviously theres still issues.

    how do you go about downgrading from 2.31 to 2.27? I have tried z4 root, androot, superoneclick, ive tried pushing the rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin files through the cmd prompt, ive only been able to temp root with z4 with success, anytime i try to load the bootloader it always says S-On, anytime i try to perma root with Z4 it gets stuck in the "Rebooting...." part and never ends up fully rooting itself.
     
  22. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    I see you have tried Z4Root. You should not need S-OFF to root the Sprint HTC Hero.

    I never had an issue using Z4Root to permanently root a Sprint HTC Hero regardless of the bootloader version. I guess another option would be to try UnrEVOked.
     
  23. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Okay, I see you are at a loss at this point. It is strange that you are having such trouble rooting Android 2.1 because I never had issues rooting any build all the way to the latest OTA update. :(

    Anyway, try flashing the .zip file in HBOOT using the instructions in this thread and see if the RUU it flashes is rootable: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=804692 . This should work, but if the bootloader is blocking root then perhaps HTC has changed something to prevent it. Like I said in another post, I have never needed S-OFF to fully root, flash recovery, flash kernels, or flash ROMS. :)
     
  24. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Look at this for another root method http://androidforums.com/sprint-hero-all-things-root/278357-root-regawmod-hero-rooter.html
     
  25. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    You will need to be S-Off to use this method that you posted;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...