Unable to download widgets. Tap to try again.Support


Last Updated:

  1. freeza

    freeza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    168
    Anyone else have this problem while trying to browse and download more "HTC Widgets"?
     

    Advertisement
    smbrewer likes this.
  2. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    Nope, I have installed Coin Flip, Dice, and Tip Calculator without issue.
    You could try this though to see if it fixes the problem:

    From the main screen:
    Menu/Settings/Applications/Manage applications <- this will take time to load.
    Once loaded look for HTC Widget Download Manager and click on it. Click the clear defaults and cache and then try the widget download again.
     
  3. freeza

    freeza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    168
    Are you rooted? If so Are you using toast method?

    IS anyone using toast method able to download widgets?
     
  4. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    Nope. Stock here no root yet.
     
  5. Kataclysmic

    Kataclysmic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0

    I'm getting the same message trying to download more widgets and when I tried the method SirSlayer said, there is nothing to clear. And it's still not working.

    Anybody else have other suggestions?
     
  6. jjalert

    jjalert New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5
  7. SirSlayer

    SirSlayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    455
    Nope sorry still working for me. Just curious did you do the OTA updates on June 4th? or were you holding out for root? Just trying to figure this out.
     
  8. jjalert

    jjalert New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5
    I originally used the toast root method, but was having SD card issues, so I did the .6 RRU today. Not rooted anymore, but still can't get widgets. I wonder if there's something broken from rooting earlier, hmm.
     
  9. Kataclysmic

    Kataclysmic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0

    I've never rooted so I know that's not the issue for me. I'm going to try to get a hold of either Sprint or HTC later today.
     
  10. RhinoDoc

    RhinoDoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    5
    Same issue. Tried 3g, 4g and wireless to no avail. Nothing in the cache to begin with. Let us know what you find out.
     
  11. narf

    narf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am on a HTC Incredible and am having the same problem. Obviously no root here, hah.
     
  12. Kataclysmic

    Kataclysmic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    @#$@! Sprint!!

    I've called twice and was disconnected both times. They say they will call back if it happens, but they don't!

    The first time I was being transferred to advanced support and the 2nd time was when the guy was just sitting doing something, we weren't even talking.

    I'm calling HTC support right now.
     
  13. Kataclysmic

    Kataclysmic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never got through to HTC, was on hold for 25 minutes before I gave up.


    I called Sprint back and got back to advanced tech support. She told me they are having data outage issues because of the new Evo but I'm having a really hard time believing that that is what my issue is. I am having NO data problems. I can get on the internet, download apps from the market, etc. but she is insisting that this is what my problem is. They have scheduled a call back for the morning to see if it's working yet for me or not and also maybe the data outage issue will be resolved by then. If it's not working, she wants to walk me through resetting my phone and whatnot, but I really don't think I'm going to go through all that with them.

    I think I'm just going to take it to an in-store tech tomorrow who knows what they are actually talking about. We have some really good techs who know the phones at our store here.
     
  14. Kataclysmic

    Kataclysmic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    It turns out maybe she really did know what she was talking about.

    When I got up this morning I went to download the HTC widgets and it worked!

    So I guess my suggestion is to keep trying and maybe try in 'off' hours if you get the chance.
     
  15. RhinoDoc

    RhinoDoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for working on that. I was able to download this morning, too.
     
  16. coolguy949

    coolguy949 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    17
    Same here. I like the profile switching app. Very useful.
     
  17. Kataclysmic

    Kataclysmic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0


    I was looking forward to that one but it seems it might not be working on my phone. After I dl'd it, all I got the option for was 'Airplane' mode. I was positive I read in the details that it also offered 'Silent' and 'Vibrate' modes but can't find them. At least they are not in the same place as my 'Airplane' widget.
     
  18. freeza

    freeza Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    168
    for some reason, i can't download the 'today in history' widget. it gets stuck on 'downoading' but the notification area says download complete lol
     
  19. smbrewer

    smbrewer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have a wierd HTC more widgets problem. I am not rooted. Dice widget installed no problem. Profile and Ringtone widgets say installed but are not on the list. I thought I'd try to uninstall them and get the following wierd message- "The home screen will be reset ater the update is complete." Then, it doesn't uninstall.

    I've tried clearing data and cache on the widget download manager with no luck.

    Any other suggestions out there?
     
  20. Kataclysmic

    Kataclysmic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0


    Reboot your phone and see if that works.


    The other day I dl'd a few apps from the Market but they wouldn't show up to add to my homescreens. And there were apps showing up on my Programs that I had long ago uninstalled. I rebooted and everything was right. The apps I dl'd appeared and the ones I uninstalled disappeared.
     
  21. g82u

    g82u New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am now having this problem. and ive tried the suggestions bu to no avail.
     
  22. KSultan347

    KSultan347 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the gingerbread update for the mytouch 4g and im the 1 who called t-mobile and the representative started this thread
    I'm still having the problem and I just factory data resetted my phone and I'm still having the problem
    There needs to be a fix because this and the fb sync bug is really frustrating
     
  23. KSultan347

    KSultan347 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm tired of all of these problems with this mytouch honestly
    I should be entitled to a free upgrade to the sidekick 4g or mytouch 4g slide
    They are the same price this phone was but I'm sure there aren't as many bugs
    If t-mobile was to do something like that then I'd resign with them, but I'm going to a different carrier after my contact finishes
     

Share This Page

Loading...