Unable to send/receive texts or calls.General


Last Updated:

  1. ShadoCrytr

    ShadoCrytr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even after numerous factory resets, through both the Volume Down+Send+End and Settings>Privacy>Factory Reset methods, my Eris has been unable to send or receive texts, and will not allow me to send or receive calls. When I try to text, I get an SMS error with Cause Code: 34 and Error Class: 3. When I try to call, I get an automated error saying that my phone can't be authenticated at this time, and am advised to call #8899. Even after doing so, I get the same authentication error.
    Wi-Fi seems to work correctly, and my Google and Facebook accounts all sync pretty much perfectly. Is anyone else having any kind of problem like this? And, either way, does anyone know of any possible alternatives that may fix the problem besides a total replacement of the phone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. HollywoodKen481

    HollywoodKen481 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    You will have to either call your phone company or bring it in to one of their stores so they can fix it. I had this happen to me last week when I performed a factory reset. It somehow knocks the phone off of the network, and the rep at Verizon had to call in to have the phone authenticated. He told me that a few people have come in with the same problem when factory resetting the Eris. The internet functions will work, but you won't be able to call or text. Everything has worked fine ever since. I hope this helps.
     
    ShadoCrytr likes this.
  3. ShadoCrytr

    ShadoCrytr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll get in at a Verizon store as soon as possible and see what they can do. Thanks a bunch.
     
  4. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    The factory reset procedure in STOCK HTC Eris phones also wipes an area of the phone which contains "activation" status. This is what associates the phones ESN to a particular VZW account.

    All you need to do is call *228 and select option 1 when prompted by the recording. You don't need to go into a Verizon store for that. (For ROMs that have a problem calling *228, I believe there is another number sequence that you can dial - I can't remember what it is off the top of my head)

    HollywoodKen481:

    I'm answering your question posted in the the other thread (about the nature of "factory resets" in the context of ROM installations) here because of some strange trouble with the board (it loops when I try to go to your post):

    The "Amon_RA" custom recovery (sub-)menu item "Wipe data/factory reset" is slightly different than what is performed by the "factory reset" item in the stock phone's menus (Settings -> Privacy -> Factory reset).

    It does delete the entire OS/ROM you have been using, and replaces it with another ROM, so you will need to reconfigure all the home screens and so forth; but it appears that the phone "activation" data is stored in an area of NVRAM which is not touched by any of the (custom recovery) Wiping/Flashing operations.

    I've reflashed my phone probably hundreds of times by now, and I have never needed to re-activate it by calling *228 - unless I used the built-in menu item in the Stock OS (Settings -> Privacy -> Factory reset).


    Root away!

    eu1
     
    HollywoodKen481 likes this.
  5. HollywoodKen481

    HollywoodKen481 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1

    When I did the factory re-set, dialing *228 did not work. That is why I had to bring it to Verizon to have them re-set it (I failed to mention that in my first post). I am going to try the root, and see what happens.
     
  6. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    Did the phone refuse to dial out, or did you get the recorded message (something like "we are unable to program your phone blah blah blah")?

    The reason that I ask is that it seems there is a chance that VZW's dial-in activation system goes down for maintenance every so often - I had it happen to my phone after one of hundreds of ROM flashings (past midnight PDT), and I thought, "oh, great, a dead phone"... but I tried again in the morning, and it worked just fine.

    Something to keep in mind - but, as I mentioned, a ROM replacement with Amon_RA does not seem to affect the phone's activation status; so, you probably will not need to do it again.

    eu1
     
  7. HollywoodKen481

    HollywoodKen481 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    The phone was able to dial out to activate, and it went through the whole process but didn't work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...