Unable to send text messages.General


Last Updated:

  1. ghostwriter

    ghostwriter Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    My battery was giving me around six hours of life despite anything I did, so I decided to try to perform a factory reset and see if that helped anything. Well, I did the factory reset and the phone is back up and running (battery still sucks, though) but I can't seem to send any text messages.

    When I try to send one, I get this error message:

    SMS Error
    Radio Interface Resource Shortage

    OK | Details


    When I click Details, I see this:

    SMS Error
    Cause Code: 64
    Error Class: 2


    Any idea why this is happening?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ghostwriter

    ghostwriter Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nevermind, I got it fixed. Verizon had to make some changes in my account and now it works.
     
  3. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    glad you got it working
     
  4. psaulnier27

    psaulnier27 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    what did you do? i have the same problem and cant solve it
     
  5. superchaos

    superchaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    36
    have you tried reprogramming on the verizon network? *228 option 1
     
  6. psaulnier27

    psaulnier27 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i tried that a lot, i had to call customer service and then end up getting tansfered to some guy who knew a heck of a lot about the droid eris, he had to tap into my account and have me do a few things then he had to send me a download, took about 25 minutes.
     
  7. zampy1391

    zampy1391 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Earlier I tried to send a text and i got the same SMS Error Radio Interface Resource Shortage message the OP got. When i pressed Details it game me the message..
    SMS Error
    Cause Code: 64
    Error Class: 2

    What can I do to fix this? I was texting fine earlier, then it randomly stopped working.
     
    ja21961 likes this.
  8. skybax22

    skybax22 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    The exact same thing is happening to me right now. I have tried reprogramming a million and one times, tried another factory reset, placed two calls to Verizon, etc. I just want my phone to be able to be able to send and receive texts and send and receive calls again, is that too much to ask?
     
  9. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Call #8899. It shouldn't be more than a minute after you verify your information.
     
  10. skybax22

    skybax22 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    This brings me to the same menu as *611. They are the people I have talked to twice already to no avail.
     
  11. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    I had this problem this afternoon. It was fixed. Not sure what's going wrong if that isn't working.

    Tell them you did a hard reset and you got a radio error message.
     
  12. skybax22

    skybax22 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, called back, she had me reset and reprogram a few times, finally she did something and the reprogramming screen had an extra line that said "SSD Update Successful." Phone works perfectly now.
     
  13. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Good. I didn't have to go through that much, she just told me to reset the phone and all should work. Since I'm a rebel, I didn't and it still worked. I restarted anyways just to make sure. All was good.

    I heard someone say they had to download something. Dunno wtf they're making people do when it sounded like she just did something on the computer.
     
  14. skybax22

    skybax22 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today when I call my voicemail I get a busy signal...
     
  15. ndjohn45

    ndjohn45 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Spent nearly an hour on the phone with Verizon tech support; rebooted, did *228, and eventually had to wipe the entire phone, download a new version, re-enter all the email information, etc. Very nice guy named Steve at VTS, but he had never heard of the problem before.

    John
     

Share This Page

Loading...