Unable to setup Google Account???Support


Last Updated:

  1. slosvt

    slosvt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am just wondering if anyone else is having an issue when trying to connect to Google? I have had zero luck since I purchased the phone yesterday.

    Signing in...
    Your phone is communicating with Google servers and setting up your account. This may take up to five minutes.

    Then two minutes into it the screen goes blank and I get this message:
    Can't establish a reliable data connection to the server. This could be a temporary problem or your SIM card may not be provisioned for data services. If it continues, call Customer Care.

    Well, after 2 calls to customers care I am still getting the same error. I have full internet access, data capability and even setup my gmail account as the email to use. I can send and receive email/sms/mms, calls, etc...

    Anyone else have something for me to try before returning the phone to Sprint? (it was purchased at BB).
     

    Advertisement
  2. crow11ad

    crow11ad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    206
    I had this when I first got the hero and now have moment. I turned off the phone and back on and it seemed to work. I have to say that once you do get it connected, it works. Want to change gmail accounts....just import and export your contacts....I am truly impressed with android.
     
  3. kahale

    kahale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    11
    i had this issue once. when i made a new gmail account. i reset the phone and tried it again and it worked.
     
  4. Gremlyn1

    Gremlyn1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
    Perhaps try making the new Gmail account on your computer and just logging in with it.
     
  5. melblank

    melblank New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this same problem. Before getting my phone yesterday, I did not have a gmail account. I went to my PC and created one. Then I have tried many, many times to get it on my phone and get the same error. I have shut it off and used wifi. Any other suggestions? Thanks!
     
  6. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    Double check passwords / username. Make sure everything is exactly the same.

    I had no problems setting up / connecting. I did have problem with Hotmail though.
     
  7. slosvt

    slosvt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had to do a factory reset on the phone to get my google account to sync. :(
     
  8. melblank

    melblank New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I just did the factory reset and it looks like I'm good to go now too. Thanks for your help! Now to just get my contacts back... :(
     
  9. turnerxce

    turnerxce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Two things...

    1) I don't have my Moment yet but... I think Google has been having some sync connection issues the last couple of days. I was trying to transfer my wife's contact from her Pearl to her Gmail account yesterday (in preparation for her getting a Hero) and it timed out repeatedly with the same error message as mentioned in the OP. Finally got it to work, but it took numerous attempts (like 20).

    2) On new accounts (or dormant old ones), Google sometimes locks the account. Do a search for "google captcha" and the first link is a google page to unlock the account. This was a problem on Blackberrys using Google sync software. That may also fix the issue for anyone still having problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...