Unbranded (?) Desire update to Froyo


Last Updated:

  1. semi

    semi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, apologies if this has been covered, but I searched and couldn't find an answer.

    I bought an unbranded (fairly certain it's unbranded) desire from mobicity.com.au. I'm using it on the Optus Australia network, and its currently on the wifi at my place.

    Looking to update to froyo, but checking through phone settings>about>updates says there's no update available.

    Do I need to wait for an australian update to 2.2, or can i do it manually? Not looking to root at this stage though.

    Thanks guys :)
    Sam
     

    Advertisement
  2. semi

    semi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    BTW:

    Firmware version: 2.1 update1
    Software number 1.21.720.4
     
  3. Crafty

    Crafty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    69
    Not sure if its the same in Aus, but we have unbranded phones here that are still tied to the network. E.g. my phone is unbranded on vodafone, but I didn't get 2.2 until it was released by vodafone.
     
  4. semi

    semi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah ok, any idea how to check if its branded?
     
  5. Crafty

    Crafty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    69
    does the internet work ? did you have to set it up ?
    if the answers are yes and no chances are it has been "branded" to some extent to enter the APN settings etc for your network.
    Give them a call and ask when they are releasing 2.2....
     
  6. semi

    semi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, optus don't sell the Desire, I bought it from mobicity. TBH I haven't actually set up the net yet, as i've been using it on wifi at home. But it definately isn't optus branded.
     
  7. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    That seems to be a release for the Indian market. You won't get a standard froyo update for that. You can update to it (see froyo RUU thread), but may need a goldcard.
     
  8. semi

    semi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    You mean i won't get one at all, or its not out yet?
     
  9. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    I'd imagine you will get one eventually but if not it should be easy to upgrade yourself.
     
  10. semi

    semi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, it looks like one just came out. When I checked tuesday, there were no updates available. Was going to use the RUU and debrand/update, but i decided to check one last time, and its downloading now :) (going pretty slowly too haha)
     
  11. semi

    semi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

    that was an update to 1.31.
    Stuff it, RUU time.
     
  12. Mahoni

    Mahoni Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    My optus desire updated to froyo just a week or more ago :)

    Problem is though my APN settings have been wiped and I put them back in exactly how they were and I cant get a connection to the network..
     

Share This Page

Loading...