• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root "Unfortunately Setup Wizard has stopped working" after factory reset (lots of background info)

Jackfenton08

Jun 20, 2015
Im new at rooting and modding devices and a while back i tried rooting my htc one m8. I think I successfully rooted it but i was lost as to what to do next. Everything i tried to do didnt work, and on top of that it wouldnt let me download anything (all downloads apart from play store downloads were unsuccessful). SuperSU also said it needed to update the binaries(?) and it never could.**The biggest issue was that i couldnt update and it said phone storage mounted as read only**.
Yesterday I had the idea of flashing a stock m8 firmware or rom or whatever its called (as i said im new at this) to get it back to normal so i could start again at a later date should i choose to. I was messing around with a lot of other stuff in the bootloader(?) and whatever I did caused my phone to stop working. When i try to boot it got stuck at the htc one loading screen. I searched up and it said factory reset it, so i did, and now it comes up with setup wizard has stopped working. Whenever i click ok it comes up again. Cant get back onto my phone but I can still get into recovery and bootloader.
If you need me to answer many questions ill do my best but i might need you to explain what it is i have to do to get it.
The info i know is
-My phone is unlocked
-I dont know what version it is but from recovery it says M8_UL PVT SHIP S-ON
-as above^ S-ON (i think ill have to get s-off to do anything but im getting lost in guides)
-I can access teamwinproject recovery or bootloader or whichever one it is
-I have factory reset since the issue happened
-I have nothing in the restore folder although im sure i did a backup when i started