Uninstalling Helix Launcher?


Last Updated:

  1. Jerry-rigged

    Jerry-rigged Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    25
    Howdy gang-

    Last week I installed Helix, because I wanted more home screens. Got that, and I also like the extra buttons across the bottom, very nice.

    BUT-

    the phone is laggy when I use Helix. I can switch back to the standard Launcher, and no lag, so it is helix. Is there some settings I can play with to help with the lag? is there another launcher I can try that has 5 screens (or more) and less lag?

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     

    Advertisement
  2. HotDawg

    HotDawg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    33
    I use Launcher+ and have had zero issues. Very happy with it.
     
    Jerry-rigged likes this.
  3. icecold

    icecold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    75
    Are you using alot of widgets with the Helix launcher? I just downloaded Helix about an hour ago, and I have been playing around with it some.

    I do see some lag, but I also have triple the number of widgets running on it versus Home. The joys of having 2 more home screens (or at least as of now). So, I would say try reducing the widgets and see if that makes any difference.
     
  4. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    If you are filling the 2 extra screens you got with all widgets then you are going to have lag with anything that adds 2 more screens. Lots of widgets=lag. When I used helix in the past I never had any lag issues but I only use 2 or 3 widgets
     
  5. Jerry-rigged

    Jerry-rigged Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    25
    I have 12 widget running on the standard home - most are picture frames or "more Icon" widgets.

    In helix I have 13. One fewer "more Icons", but two extra picture frames.

    So far with helix, I have not filled both extra screens - I have one totaly empty.
     
  6. Jerry-rigged

    Jerry-rigged Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    25
    I'll check it out, thanks!
     
  7. (G)

    (G) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    47
    On one of the other topics here someone mentioned that, if you're still running widgets on your stock home screen AND in Helix, you're running double widgets, since (supposedly) the ones on the hidden stock home screen are still running, too.

    Don't know how true that is, but it wouldn't hurt you to delete the widgets from your original home screen(s) and see how laggy the phone still is.

    I've got Helix running, deleted all the widgets from my stock home screen, and every now and then the phone lags slightly, but it's not an issue.
     
    mystereon and Jerry-rigged like this.
  8. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    Good point G. Being rooted I actually go in and delete the normal launcher so its not running in the backround. You probably cant do that but at least you can make sure there is nothing running on it
     
  9. Jerry-rigged

    Jerry-rigged Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    25
    But shouldn't it be true the other way too? Is Helix is running in the background when I am on the stock launcher?
     
  10. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    Helix is not installed as a system app so you can stop it from running though
     
  11. Jerry-rigged

    Jerry-rigged Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    25
    Well, I have dumped all the widgets off the "normal" home (all but one, anyways). Phone seems a bit less laggy. I'll give Helix another few days.

    Thanks!
     
  12. cggorman

    cggorman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    664
    Is this accomplished thru ADB? I tried to delete and/or rename using Astro, but it said I had insufficient priviledges. (despite have SU/Root).
     
  13. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    I use root explorer but if could be done with ADB
     
  14. sooper_droid12

    sooper_droid12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    73
    Try clearing your stock home screen of all widgets and apps before you populate Helix. If you have widgets on both your stock and Helix, it can look like Helix is running slow. Same behavior really for all home replacements apps.
     
  15. paertnershipdriod

    paertnershipdriod Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running Helix as the default and want to check what the stock launcher is running. How do I get to it?
     
  16. icecold

    icecold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    75
    Download Home Switcher. It will allow you to launch either Home or Helix, and gives you the option of changing the default.
     
    paertnershipdriod likes this.
  17. paertnershipdriod

    paertnershipdriod Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    This worked great thanks.

     

Share This Page

Loading...