Unlimited Data Swap


Last Updated:

  1. chitown72

    chitown72 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    So here is the 10,000th thread regarding keeping VZW unlimited data. I am looking to swap my iphone 4s with an iphone 5. Here is how my plan is structured.

    My phone- Iphone4s with unlimited data
    Sisters phone- Dumb phone

    I was thinking that I will use my sisters upgrade to buy the Iphone5 and get 2gb of data on that line. I will then swap my Iphone4s with the Iphone5 keeping my unlimited data on my line and my sisters Iphone4s will have the 2gb of data. Am I missing anything here :confused:?

    thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. hilmar2k

    hilmar2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    293
    That'll work.
     
  3. red66charger

    red66charger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    378
    Glad I saw this. I intend to do the same thing with my wife. She has a dumb phone but I just bought her a like new 4s. I want to use her upgrade for a Note II or DNA.

    Any predictability to Verizon's "Double Dour Data" sales or are those days over?
     
  4. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin' Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    10,634
    Likes Received:
    7,393
    I imagine the days of deals on data are over. Verizon has the writing on the wall and it says that we're going make a lot of money on data. They don't seem to value voice and texting anymore, since they're only coming in unlimited form with the SE plans, but data prices are through the roof.
     
  5. red66charger

    red66charger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    378
    I believe you are correct. I went to a corporate store today and, thanKfully, had a csr who understood what I was wanting to do. He even let me rant a bit and admitted VZW is definitely only interested in keeping Big Red happy.

    He told me I could upgrade my wife's feature phone with a smartphone subsidy and switch devices afterward. However, there are two caveats. One...we can't do it all on the same day. He said "they" are watching for this type of maneuvering. I would have to wait a couple of days. Two...and this is my biggest concern...he said once we swap phones, the warranty on the new subsidized device would be null. That's not cool with me.

    Of course, I could talk with a different csr and get a totally different story I'm sure. He told me the "Double Your Data" deals were to get people on to 4G plans.
     
  6. hilmar2k

    hilmar2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    293

    I think he is wrong on every count.
     
  7. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin' Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    10,634
    Likes Received:
    7,393
    I know for a fact that the CSR is wrong about warranty because at the very least, you'll have the 1 year manufacturer's warranty no matter what. It might not be as convenient as going to the Verizon store for an exchange, but it is still something.
    As far as the maneuvering issue, if that is true, it would have to be really new because people have been doing this same day even recently without any issues.
     
  8. ZRock

    ZRock Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    He's mostly right. If the iPhone 5 is ACTIVATED on the "swapper" line before putting it on your own, its sim can basically break for 24-48 hrs before it can be reactivated again to prevent gaming.
     
  9. FunkyBoss

    FunkyBoss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    17
    I went into a Verizon store asking about doing this a couple weeks ago. The CSR also told me that V corporate was frowning on this process now and that he couldn't do it for me.

    I ended up going to Best Buy this weekend and did exactly this for 2 of the lines on my account and so far so good. We still have unlimited data. And the Best Buy guys don't seem to care. They just want to sell the phones. :)
     
  10. NYankee

    NYankee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    13
    The csr is wrong about the man warranty. All they have to do is see the history of the esn being on your account from the activation date. People do alternate buddy swap upgrades all the time.

    Here is a little tip. Don't believe or take 100 percent factual what a csr rep is telling you unless they look it up.
     
  11. chitown72

    chitown72 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I got the new razr hd today in the mail. I want to swap it to my unlimited line that currently has a 4s on it. Do I need to activate the razr hd on the newly upgraded line and then wait a couple days to swap esns online?

    My end goal is to have a 2gb 4s and unlimited razr
     
  12. AntimonyER

    AntimonyER AF Addict VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13,646
    Likes Received:
    8,004
    Yes you want to activate the phone on the line which was upgraded first then swap it over.
     
  13. chitown72

    chitown72 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks . Do I have to wait a few days ?
     
  14. comk4ver

    comk4ver Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    Okay I have a monkey wrench question to ask now. Here's my setup:
    Two unlimited smartphones and two dumb phones.
    One unlimited has an unmovable upgrade (has an upgrade plus fifty bucks credit?) and used an available on dumb line#1 to upgrade to a htc dna.
    Dumb line #2 upgraded about eight or six months ago to another phone that doesn't require a data plan.
    Unlimited line #2 has an available transferable upgrade where can that upgrade go?
    Is it possible to move unlimited #2's upgrade to dumb line #2 even though it just upgraded less than a year ago or can I use unlimited #2 upgrade to dumb line #1 even though it just got upgraded in December of 2012?

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
     

Share This Page

Loading...