Unlock screen lagSupport


Last Updated:

  1. BabyRN

    BabyRN Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    8
    I am sorry if this has already been a topic, I did a search and couldn't find anything.

    Is is just my D2 or does everyone's unlock screen lag? When I unlock it, the bar stays across the screen for a good 5+ seconds before it unlocks and my home screen shows up. Just wondering, my D1 was fast and didn't lag at all. Just curious. :D Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. JDunc

    JDunc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    37
    My does this if I have music and a lot of background activity sometimes. Otherwise it shouldn't lag.
     
  3. BabyRN

    BabyRN Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks. I just got mine a few days ago, so I have zero music on it right now. It is every time....wonder what is causing it? :rolleyes:
     
  4. JDunc

    JDunc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    37
    I suppose its like a computer, if your ram is being used you will experience some lag. Maybe you have alot of widgets running and background data running and its causing you some lag. Try to eliminate some of your activity and see if that helps some.
     
  5. BabyRN

    BabyRN Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok thank you! I am in the process of removing the widgets I do not use....I hope this helps :)
     
  6. JDunc

    JDunc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    37
    Me too! Let me know how it goes.
     
  7. BabyRN

    BabyRN Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    8
    No it didn't help :( I removed all the widgets from my 7 screens, only leaving the calendar app and the short cut to the 4 contacts. I am not sure what else to try. Any ideas?
     
  8. JDunc

    JDunc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    37
    I would do a factory reset if your lag is consistent. If that doesn't help then I might say its defective:(
     
  9. BabyRN

    BabyRN Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok, I will try that in the morning. It would be just my luck that it is defective, since I did the whole D1 refurb after refurb until they finally gave me a new D2 :(
     
  10. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    What launcher are you using? if you're using stock, have you tried Launcher Pro (in case the stock launcher is part of what is bogging things down.

    You could also SBF 2.2.20 back onto the phone...if the flash wasn't 100% solid, redoing it might clear things up.

    I know what you mean about the D1 to D2 process...I did that as well after six bad D1s, and am actually worried that if I had to send my current D2 back to them that they'd try to send me a D1 refurb again if they had one in stock... <eek!>
     
  11. BabyRN

    BabyRN Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    8
    Getting another horrid D1 refurb would be awful! I only went through 3 before I got the D2. Love this phone. I uninstalled ATK and it seems to be better. I tried Launcher Pro yesterday and there wasn't a difference. It is mainly the slide lock, when I slide it to the right it stays there for about 5 seconds before my home screen shows. No lag after that.

    Ok, sorry for my ignorance, what is SBF? LOL. It does have 2.2.20 on it. Is there something else available? Thanks for all your help :p
     
  12. left4dead

    left4dead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    6
    It's not just you, there is a very slight lag on the unlock screen on the D2. Some notice it while others will not. I've confirmed this with a Verizon tech and checked it out myself with a couple of other D2 phones. Anyone who says otherwise is misinformed.

    Reducing background services or deleting widgets does nothing. Good luck.
     
  13. BabyRN

    BabyRN Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    8
    Good to know, thank you! The D1 was so fast that this was crazy to me. I thought for sure having a faster phone, this wouldn't be an issue. Glad to know it isn't just mine :cool:
     
  14. JDunc

    JDunc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    37
    OP clearly states 5 seconds of lag while unlocking their phone. Only time I've experienced that kinda of lag unlocking the phone is while playing music. If I consistently had 5 seconds of lag everytime id be a little bit upset too.
     
  15. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Regarding a long lag (as reported by babyRN, it's not a matter of "some noticing it while others will not"... :)

    This (a long lag after the slide) has been reported more than once, so there is a real problem here, but its inconsistent nature makes it hard to track down.

    BabyRN:

    SBF refers to a file that is a full copy of the phone setup for the D2 for 2.2.20...you can find it via google and I believe it's on rootzwiki. (Passwords for Rootzwiki download are "rootzwiki" and "phoxusgift" to extract once downloaded.) The D2 SBF file may be available elsewhere - google is your friend.

    You also need RSD Lite 4.7 + patch (motorola tool that allows you to flash the SBF file to your phone).

    May be more than you want to get into...did you try the factory reset?

    And be sure to uninstall any task killers...they just aren't necessary and get in the way/cause problems.
     
    BabyRN likes this.
  16. redpanda

    redpanda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    27
    The slight lag is kind of peculiar. I assumed it was because the phone underclocks when idle and it needs time to get the processor back up, but I think some of the initial trashing of the phone was from when people would go into the store and see the lock-screen lag. I would think Moto would put a little more care into first impressions.

    As for the extreme lag the OP has, my only guess is it's some app that's running or there's something wrong with your phone. Have you tried turning it off and back on?
     
  17. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Mine hasn't had any lag, and I underclock to 300MHz when the phone is asleep.

    I slide to unlock, PIN screen appears immediately, enter PIN and home screen appears...no delays.

    Be interesting to see if the PIN lock offers protection from seeing the shorter lag you guys are talking about...i can't remove my PIN lock since it's tied to my Exchange account.
     
  18. Super_Six_Two

    Super_Six_Two Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    76
    I have had mine setup with PIN and without it and it takes the same amount of time to unlock. Could it be faster? Yes, for sure. Do I care that it lags a little now? No. Waiting the extra .5-1.5 seconds dosent bother me.
     
  19. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Ok, thanks for your response to my question. Glad mine is lag-free...I unlock constantly during the day.
     
  20. BabyRN

    BabyRN Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thank you for all your responses. Yes I did the factory reset, no change. It is a little annoying, but it is something I can live with. It seems others have this same problem. If it were just mine I would have pushed for a new phone.

    Red - I will google that info and see if it is something I think I can do, lol. Thanks for your help ;)
     
  21. BabyRN

    BabyRN Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well, now I think something is definitely wrong with my phone. Tonight it completely locked up. I went to respond to a text message and when I slid the slider out it froze, I couldn't type, when I hit the arrow back key or the home key it did nothing, not even vibrate. So I tried turning it off and it wouldn't even turn off! I had to take the case off and do the battery pull. After I did that, it did it again. I am now on my third battery pull within 20 mins.....ugh!!!!
     
  22. JDunc

    JDunc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    37
    I thought it sounded defective :(. I would take the phone to the store and see what they can do about that. That shouldn't be happening.
     
  23. BabyRN

    BabyRN Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    8
    I just did another factory reset, such a PIA! I will try and take it by Verizon tomorrow, I am taking my kids to Disneyland :p
     
  24. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    I'll take your kids to Disneyland so you can take your phone to VZW... ;)

    My kids are getting "too old" for Disneyland. :(
     
  25. BabyRN

    BabyRN Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    8
    LOL...are we ever too old for Disneyland???:p
     

Share This Page

Loading...