Unlock T-Mobile HTC to ATT (USA)


Last Updated:

  1. macandcheese

    macandcheese New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thinking about getting a used Hero, was used on TMOBILE in USA, how easy is it to unlock a t-mobile hero to at&t, and will the new update everyone is talking about work? i dont need data at all, would use wifi gladly instead if that has any bearing. Is this possible? thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. skexone

    skexone Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    i would also like to know
     
  3. Gestalt

    Gestalt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since the HTC Hero is not in the U.S. currently, was this used HTC Hero in Europe's T-Mobile? I purchased an unbranded Hero and I would probably recommend that since you are keeping out of carrier branded software from cluterring and potentially diminishing the quality of the phone (Verizon's Vcast anyone?). Otherwise I imagine unlocking a HTC Hero branded for T-Mobile is no different than unlocking a G1 or MyTouch.
     
  4. macandcheese

    macandcheese New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, its on craigslist so it very well could be a uk version, but im in america so more than likely its an unbranded unlocked phone the person decided to use tmobile with, the box in the picture on craigslist does say g2 on it though, not hero.... i know i bought a sony ericsson through att and unlocked the phone to the international firmware (but kept it on att network), which removed things like att shop and branded stuff, im just wondering how easy it is to update to the new rom and then use att as my carrier, thanks.

    and in the case that is an unlocked phone that just happens to be on tmobile in the us, then all i would need to do is pop in my sim and change the sms right?
     
  5. Gestalt

    Gestalt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's all I did when I got my HTC hero in the mail. I would be careful though, if the picture says 'G2' then that is definately not a Hero.
     
  6. macandcheese

    macandcheese New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow, your right, i just assumed it was the hero b/c is said g2.. i guess it's the magic then huh? any impressions about that phone?
     
  7. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    If it is the European Hero (meaning not Sprint) and it was running on USA's T-Mobile (meaning not the European T-Mobile), then it is already unlocked. All you'll need to do is put your AT&T SIM in it and change a couple APN settings.
     
  8. skexone

    skexone Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a european unbranded unlocked hero, bought it from overseas via a company on amazon... i am using the phone on at&t in the us. the biggest question i have that noone has been able to answer is will updating my rom to 2.7 lock/brick my phone? if it locks up how will i unlock it? i would pay for a legitimate answer.
     
  9. Jseven

    Jseven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I updated. It doesn't lock your phone or brick it. Just make sure you have a full charge before you decide to run the update. The UK 2.7 rom is what I used. Different from the initial Nordic release. Only slightly different, but faster in my tests. Selecting Europe or US as the closest range to your location when downloading the update doesn't change anything. I ran both. I still had to use an English using a European(Poland, etc) country as the base for the keyboards correction. The Unbranded Hero is just cooler. Looks cooler when you show it off to people staring from across their restaurant table :).

    PS: Give me money.
     

Share This Page

Loading...