Unlocked G1 but no paid apps availGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. hightower

    hightower Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok,

    Just got a new g1 that I unlocked because I use Fido. Its a tmobile G1.

    However I cannot see any paid apps on the market.

    Research on google shows up all the bulletins saying that google has blocked access to these. mostly for developer phones. because of some loophole.

    so does that mean the lone guy who just wants to use this phone is screwed to get any good apps?

    Is thier work around solution?
     

    Advertisement
  2. hightower

    hightower Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im not a developer. Its not a dev phone, and if phone rooted means like a debug program to get to the core, i have no idea, I think not. have no intrest in that. I entered the unlock code and thats it. Everything else works fine
     
  3. marshallladd

    marshallladd Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    there is an app out there on the web, not the market, called market enabler. You need to be rooted for it to work but it can spoof standard t-mobile, us and other European carrier information in the market, allowing you access to paid and location restricted apps. I used it while I was in Honduras it worked perfectly.
     
  4. Toasty3000

    Toasty3000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for sharing this problem, I'm getting a unlocked G1 soon and I am also on fido.

    Hope all goes well!
     
  5. hightower

    hightower Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Toasty3000:

    Just a side note. If you get a G1 and you want to use 3G it has to be the rogers dream. You can use tmobile on fido with full functionality with the exception of 3g. You will only be limited to 2g.

    I learned the hard way
     
  6. Toasty3000

    Toasty3000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was gonna guess that, I guess it's fine. Not about to switch to rogers anytime soon :p

    Again, thanks.
     
  7. brandonorban

    brandonorban New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    so would this work on a rogers dream cause i heard that they don't allow paid apps only free ones
     
  8. samuelmaskell

    samuelmaskell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    3
    It would work on any rooted android device.
     
  9. Demio

    Demio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I love Rogers :D

    They gave me my HTC for $99, even though I upgraded to a blackberry a year ago.

    You just have to bargain with them.

    So, you're probably better off with signing a contract and getting a good deal on a phone
     
  10. brandonorban

    brandonorban New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you got all the features that everybody else has?
     
  11. Toasty3000

    Toasty3000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    No point, I'm already with fido. That's why I want one unlocked.

    When I talked to fido about switching to an iPhone they said I'd have to wait a year too. Fido has shit phones anyway so unlocked is the way to go.
     

Share This Page

Loading...