Unlocked Galaxy APN/Network Operator help needed.Support


Last Updated:

  1. vegeta2002

    vegeta2002 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. GT-I5700
    2. Firmware 1.5
    3. Baseband I5700XXIl2
    4. Kernel 2.6.27
    5. Build number cupcake.xxila

    I'm in the U.S. and recently bought an unlocked Galaxy Spica/Lite/Portal. I love the phone but Droid is not as intuitive as I thought it would be. Since it's not one of their phones Centennial Wireless can't help me. Samsung is also useless and has had me calling everyone from Singapore to the UK. All I need to know is why does it not detect the Centennial Wireless network but detects the AT&T and 310030 roaming network. Also when I enter and save the Centennial APN settings manually the network operator search finds the same results. I'm sure it's a simple oversight on my part. I figured out PC studio and Kies on my own, but my phone is pretty bricked unless I can fix this. I'm a newb, so please be civil. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    If I were you, I'd root my phone, and start again. Check out my Root guide.

    Root Guide

    50c says it wil sort out most, if not all your problems.
     
    vegeta2002 likes this.
  3. vegeta2002

    vegeta2002 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll try this tomorrow and let you know how it goes. I'm still a bit uneasy as to why I have to do this to get my phone to do what it was advertised as being able to do. Is the Eclair update worth it?
     
  4. Megs

    Megs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    10
    2.1 gave me better battery life. Not to mention all the apps I can now install that I couldn't on 1.5.

    So yes its worth it.

    Any luck with rooting it?
     
  5. vegeta2002

    vegeta2002 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went ahead and followed all the steps and now have a rooted 2.1 galaxy spica. I'll play around with the settings tomorrow at work and see if it's fixed.
     
  6. vegeta2002

    vegeta2002 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh wow! Everything works now. I'm loving the Droid update too. You were a great help. Thanks.
     
  7. Megs

    Megs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    10
    Another satisfied customer!

    I'm glad you like 2.1.

    Just as an FYI: Samsung isn't going to make an official ROM to go to 2.2. Having said that, there's a guy (Leshak) on the samdroid forums who's trying to make a 2.2 ROM from scratch. He's about halfway there right now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...