Unlocked Phones for BoostGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. PhoneMan93

    PhoneMan93 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    73
    Does Boost allow you to use a unlocked phone with their network?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rarewolf

    Rarewolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    152
    Most phone companies do.
    although id suggest using a new phone.
    Because many of the features don't always work when phones get unlocked and used on a diffrent network.
     
  3. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    I would say it really depends on what you mean.

    If it on the iden side they may, though im not sure you would get any features.

    On the CDMA side there is no "unlocked" they do not allow outside esn's on their network.
    A few sprint, "dumb" phones are the only exception. and I believe they are stopping that as well.
     
  4. Alsaces Daddy

    Alsaces Daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4,928
    Likes Received:
    1,885
    I've seen quite a few evos up for sale but didn't sana risk 350$ just for it to not work.
     
  5. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    Evo on boost is not an unlocked phone.

    Technically its a cloned phone. What that means is you HAVE to have a boost mobile "donor" phone, you get the esn and HA and AAA keys as well as specific NV items from a boost branded phone and then you change the evo to match those items.
     
  6. Alsaces Daddy

    Alsaces Daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4,928
    Likes Received:
    1,885
    THAT sounds illegal.
     
  7. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    Some people say if you own both phones AND only one is in service then its not illegal,

    However Cloning a phone is illegal as it generally means 2 phones are receiving the same service not to mention the privacy concerns if its not you that has the "cloned" phone.
     
  8. Alsaces Daddy

    Alsaces Daddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4,928
    Likes Received:
    1,885
    Yeah that's what i assumed. I wont be spending the money on that for the wife. She will have to settle for a Marquee. :)
     
  9. PhoneMan93

    PhoneMan93 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    73
    Is cloning a phone hard?
     
  10. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    Depends on the phones in question, and how much someone wants to do it.:p
     
  11. kolosus

    kolosus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    341
    Depends on your definition of hard. Does hard=challenge? Does challenge=fun?

    How much time and effort are you willing to put into it? Is it going to be a chore to you or are you going to enjoy the trip? Are you the type of person who wants to just pay the dude on Ebay and get it over with or the type of person who wants to do it themselves because the geek in them will never let them live down the fact that they paid someone to do what they could've done themselves?

    BTW. Cloning is illegal. The law was made so that someone couldn't use/steal someone else's service. If you own both phones and are not really stealing service (because it is meant for you) then is it still illegal? Grey area, true. But cloning is still illegal. YMMV.
     
  12. murdamitten231

    murdamitten231 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    ill flash many different model phone to boost mobile, i offer remote flashing as well, which means you can have it done from the comfort of your own home, if u are interested please contact me by TEXT 2314454203, you must provide the donor phone, BOOST INCOGNITO, my price is very cheap and you might learn something as well;-] i flash a phone in 45 minutes or less, and this is noot illegal, LOOK UP THE LAWBOOKS BUD, THE UPDATED ONES, 2314454203 text anytime,
     
    The~Skater~187 likes this.
  13. zagdaa

    zagdaa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I have Samsung Prevail BoostMobile and I wnat to use my phone in different network. I have ODINED my phone and rooted (1 click ROOT instruction).

    I went to my mobile operator, the guy configured all necessary params, but my phone says mobile network disconnected and still i cannot use my phone.
     
  14. VikingoV

    VikingoV Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you do the same on a galaxy nexus from sprint instead of the evo
     
  15. VikingoV

    VikingoV Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone please help me I have a galaxy nexus from sprint and I want to put it on boost Mobil.
     
  16. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    Use the same steps just need to be able to access the nexus NV items
     

Share This Page

Loading...