Unlocking/De-branding/Rooting/Flashing

Last Updated:

1. kolipe

kolipe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Hi all, I am completely new to open source. I have no idea as to what the above terms mean. All I want is FroYo and all other updates without having to wait for the carrier (O2) to release. O2 are useless in releasing updates. And also I need to be able to use the phone with any sim.

Can someone help as to how to go about achieving this?

Apologies if this is dealt somewhere else. I would be happy read about it if you point me to the relevant thread.

Thanks.

HTC Desire with O2 still on 2.1

Advertisement
  2. LECTER

LECTER Well-Known Member

Might want to look here. ;)

Desire - All Things Root - Android Forums

kolipe likes this.
  3. L60N

L60N Member

Buy an unlock code before you start messing, it will save you from a near heart attack further down the rabbit hole.

I got mine from this chap (no relation / not pimping his shop, but he supplied me a working code within 10mins) :

eBay My World - express-codes

kolipe likes this.
  4. SUroot

SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

Unlocking-removing the SIM Lock to your carrier, often using a code.

Debranding-The process of removing all carrier added branding (Splash screens etc) This will not remove any sim lock

Rooting- The process of obtaining root access to the phone's operating system (Basically admin permissions) This will mos likely involve flashing a new Operating system (ROM) with the permissions already added. This will be a generic rom with no branding (or a custom rom if you choose) - This will debrand if you choose on non-branded rom, but your simlock will remain.

Flashing - The process of installing a ROM or update to the internal memory, which you would not usually have access to do.

I would expect with a generic, debranded rom, you should get the froyo update Over the Air.

kolipe likes this.
  5. teppic74

teppic74 Well-Known Member