Unlocking hero


Last Updated:

  1. n0v

    n0v Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Could some one please offer some advise on unlocking?

    I have a uk 3 hero. I may want to put another sim in it if I go abroad so I ould need to unlock it. Is the only way to tell it is locked put another sim in it?

    Also are there any other advantages of unlocking my hero?

    I did a search but could not find the answer.

    thanks

    n0v
     

    Advertisement
  2. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    Where did the phone come from, i.e. which of the airtime suppliers?
     
  3. n0v

    n0v Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    It is from 3 (three).
     
  4. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    I think 3 lock their phones, but I am sure a 3 user will confirm that for you. The easy way to tell is to just borrow a SIM from another airtime supplier and try it.

    AFAIK the only advantage with unlocking the phone is being able to use other SIMs in it.
     
  5. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    n0v likes this.
  6. n0v

    n0v Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Went to that sit and got an unlock code.
     
  7. antipesto93

    antipesto93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    35
    it is now unlocked,
    i think you may still have to use 3's rom, because the serial number of your phone is still regustreed as a 3 serial number to htc
    but there is no difference between the 3 and generic, the 3 one just has an extra desktop icon, but you can delete that anyway

    3 are quite good with updates so you will get 2.1 nice and fast
     

Share This Page

Loading...