unlocking the Hero on Orange with no Orange sim?


Last Updated:

  1. AmDaMan

    AmDaMan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I've done a search but I can't find a definitive answer! I got the unlock code but it just stays on the unlocking sim screen as per buggy Orange ROM. I don't have an Orange SIM though so is it possible to unlock it without this or will I have to source a SIM?

    Cheers.
     

    Advertisement
  2. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    The Orange lock is in the phone itself and shouldn't be connected to a SIM card....

    I think.
     
  3. AmDaMan

    AmDaMan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah but how do I update to a Modaco ROM if I can't get on the phone its self? I can't believe the Orange ROM would be so poor and the problem not addressed.

    Also if I change to the Modaco ROM does this mean I can get normal HTC ROMs instead of Orange ones?
     
  4. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    Orange ROM = Stock HTC ROM but with a splash screen and bookmarks.
    There is nothing wrong with the ROM.

    Free SIM Cards – get a free SIM on pay as you go mobiles | Orange UK
     
  5. AmDaMan

    AmDaMan Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks. So I don't have to downgrade the rom in order to unlock it? The modaco rom is ok?

    Will o2 work ok on this phone?
     
  6. jonny3803

    jonny3803 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    You wil need to follow earlier posts to unlock your Orange Hero.

    Orange stock has a bug that does not allow you to unlock the phone (even though it say it's unlock)

    In short you will need to flash a custom recovery image to allow you to flash a custom (MoDaCo) Rom, then put a non Orange sim card in, i.e. o2 and enter the unlock code you've bought and wham bam its unlocked.

    I did mine yesterday and all is working like a dream (or Hero - Ha)

    There are bundles of guides on this forum that tell you exactly how to go about it but if your still unsure PM me.

    Good luck and spread the Android love!!
     
  7. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    IIRC there is a way to unlock an Orange phone without a code if you are on MoDaCo.. Don't have a link so I may be wrong.
     
  8. jonny3803

    jonny3803 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Indeed, G8D you are correct.

    I left this out of my post simply because I bought my code before I unlocked therefor I didn't want to explain or more importantly mislead anyone on info I'm unsure about. But it defo is possible, not sure on the specific's

    Good point though G8D.

    Would be good for someone to post if they've explored the unlock via MoCaDo method.

    Cheers Droid's
     
  9. MimUK

    MimUK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got my Orange UK HTC Hero on Tuesday (Latest Orange ROM)
    Bought a code from HTCCode - Remote Unlocking
    Switched it on with my T-Mobile SIM Inserted entered the code I had bought at the unlock screen and works perfectly.

    No flashing or reverted to stock/custom roms at all.

    Mim
     
  10. jonny3803

    jonny3803 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very interesting indeed. Don't want to make a bald statement and say Orange have cleaned their Rom but is certainly interesting to hear.

    can you post your Rom version, Radio (BB) etc?
     
  11. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    When you say you have the latest Orange ROM do you mean the one that has only been out for a few days - i.e. 2.73.61.66?
     
  12. MimUK

    MimUK New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It came loaded with
    Firmware: 1.5
    Baseband: 63.18.55.06JU_6.35.08.29
    Build: 2.73.61.66
    Software: 1.0.0.A6288
     
  13. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    That's the latest ROM that has only been out a week or so.

    It sounds as if it may have fixed the bug that prevented Orange phones being unlocked even if you bought the unlock code from Orange themselves.

    I would be interested in hearing from others who have upgraded to the latest ROM and have tried to unlock using a code.
     
  14. DevKar22

    DevKar22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just unbelievable.
    Earlier the unlock code did not work on ROM .6 .
    I have installed the new orange ROM .66 on my htc hero and the unlock code worked fine without any issues.

    The phone is now unlocked........
     
  15. peterc10

    peterc10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    So looks like the new ROM fixes that bug. Now just need to wait until its signatiure has been approved by Google so it can see all the apps in the market. Or should I wait for 2.1???????
     
  16. ken.fenech

    ken.fenech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hi there, would like to know if you had any dropped reception or anything like that after you unlocked your mobile please.

    thanks
     
  17. ken.fenech

    ken.fenech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    I just did the same thing bought the code from HTCCode - Remote Unlocking for
     

Share This Page

Loading...