Unlocking - Warning From T-Mobile Store?General


Last Updated:

  1. wildneg

    wildneg Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have cingular and for various reasons, I need a phone were I can disable 3G when at my house. It is because i'm just on the outskirts of the 3G network, my phone tries attaching now and wont work for incoming calls or texts... but when I dial out a few times after failing, it'll attach to the Edge network with almost full bars and works flawlessly. So, again, when I am at home, I need to DISABLE 3G.

    That said, I talked to AT&T and low and behold, the only phones you can disable 3G on when you want, are the iPhone, and any Windows Mobile phones. Well, if I am going to pay that much, I want the G1.

    I stopped at a T-Mobile store and played with one and I am, in, love. So I went online and was reading about unlocking the G1 and using my AT&T card in the phone. I have a few questions and concerns for anyone who has a G1 unlocked and using the AT&T...

    I am aware that the 3G on AT&T's network will not work on the phone, which is fine. It only causes more problems down by me then not...

    I called T-Mobile to ask about purchasing a G1 outright and if they would give me the unlocking code. I was told I could buy a phone, but they wouldn't unlock it. I said that is fine, I can get the code online in 10 minutes. She then told me that it will work on AT&Ts network for the most part, but AT&T doesn't supply the right 'data' plans were all features will work. Has anyone with AT&T had any issues/problems with this? I want everything to work. I want it to work as if I WAS ON the T-Mobile network (EDGE/2G!).

    What data plan do you get with the AT&T network? I was told by a few people online I HAVE TO GET the IPhone data plan (unlimited) for everything to work. This is roughly $30.00 a month. I was reading again that you don't need that. You just need the $15.00 Medianet (Or mediaexpress maybe?) or what ever the package is called. Its unlimited data and will work just the same. Again, I want everything to work so I don't want to go half way into it. I also want no unexpected add on for 'going over'. So it must be true unlimited.

    The lady at T-Mobile also said by using AT&T, she has had people bring phones back all the time for locking up a lot when the AT&T network. Any truth to this? Anyone with any other info, please let me know. Really seriously thinking about this now... Thanks in advance.

    - Kevin
     

    Advertisement
  2. bollo

    bollo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I unlocked my G1 and use it on AT&T with no problems. Internet, txt and voice. Also to my surprise I received the RC33 update OTA automatically.
     
  3. wildneg

    wildneg Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    What data package do you have on your AT&T bill to use the unlimited data? I'm seeing posts for two different ones, both unlimited, one half the price. I want to make sure I get one that is KNOWN to work and is KNOWN to be unlimited.

    And I am thinking T-Mobile is just 'scaring' me into getting the phone WITH their service. I KNOW AT&T works at my house though on the Edge network :D I know nothing about T-Mobiles service down by me.

    Thanks,
    Kevin
     
  4. bollo

    bollo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the Media net package which includes unlimited internet. The only thing I miss from my old Samsung phone is the ability to tether my laptop easily.
     
  5. shivers316

    shivers316 Godmember VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,042
    Likes Received:
    979
    Why don't you just buy an unlocked one on eBay? I've seen plenty on there. Just helped a friend of mine get one on eBay and he couldn't be happier. And, of course a T-Mobile rep is gonna tell you what she told you. She's trying to plant the seed of doubt about being with AT&T. An AT&T rep would do the same thing if you called them about using the iPhone on T-Mobile.
     
  6. jeffyo

    jeffyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    9
    I would just buy the dev. I have cingular plan and bought an ebay g1 and unlocked online. Works just fine. 3g would be nice but its not bad. For $15 its a bargin
     

Share This Page

Loading...