Unlocking?


Last Updated:

  1. blasteryui

    blasteryui Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey guys.. so I purchased a samsung galaxy s vibrant off somebody through kijiji, he said the phone is supossed to be unlocked, when I go into the network settings, I can choose between rogers, telus and bell, I choose telus, it says I'm with Telus. However when I can't make calls or send text messages, but people can call me, on top of this, when I turn on the phone it says enter unlock pin code, what is this code, how do I fix it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
  3. aksoutherland

    aksoutherland Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a utility in the market that will give you the unlock codes.
    In the Market, search for Samsung. There will be an Unlock tool. Make sure you get the correct one for the version of android that you are running.
    I was able to verify that the code works.

    Good Luck
     
  4. howetechnical

    howetechnical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    Just used it on my Vibrant, got the codes. Will save them for later, but it seems legit. I'll double check against the codes from T-Mobile once I've had the phone long enough to request them.
     
  5. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Hey Check out the Vibrant Tips section, it is posted there what you can do.
     
  6. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165

    I think you can request a code on a new phone as long as you have been a customer for 90 days, You were with t-mobile prior to your vibrant correct? You should be able to call them and have them give you one. Plus t-mobile is very nice, they always make exceptions.
     
  7. androids-r-us

    androids-r-us Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    sgs unlocker works great.u can get it from the market and its free
     
  8. djquick

    djquick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    23
    I used the unlock app from the market and it worked like a charm on the first try
     
  9. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
    So when you get the codes, do you just bring up the dialer pad and enter?
     
  10. djquick

    djquick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    23
    Well no. write the code down when it gives it to you, then you have to put in another sim card other than a t-mobile one, like say an at&t sim card. Then you'll see a screen that says wrong sim card or whatever it says, then just use the dial pad and add the unlock code you wrote down, then it should say "phone unlocked"
     
  11. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
    Oh, well that is pretty easy. Now i just need to find somebody i know with AT&T. But honestly i dont really need it to be unlocked. Im not switching to AT&T EVER and im not selling it anytime soon.

    Is there an advantage i dont know about? If there is, id like to know.


    And what is the freeze code for?
     
  12. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    I think the freeze code is if you enter the wrong code too many times, it freezes your phone up, then the freeze code unfreezes your phone. Not 100 percent certain, but I think thats what its for.
     
  13. jothsha

    jothsha Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably the seller would have unlock your mobile with a free service which didn't unlock your mobile properly, that is why it is asking your to enter the unlock code. Dont do the same mistake of going to a free service which is not reliable. Search for a genuine unlock service, like Mobile-Unlocker.com which is very reliable.
     
  14. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
    Reliable perhaps but thats way expensive. I called T-Mobile and said i was going to the UK and they gave me a code for free.
     

Share This Page

Loading...