***Unofficial Noobish Question Thread***

Last Updated:

1. Lurkr

Lurkr Active Member This Topic's Starter

So, I'm sitting here with my lovely Droid X after a smoothly run midnight release (yay Roanoke!) and I find myself wondering--Is there anything (apps, hardware, otherwise) that I should absolutely NOT do, despite what people (or websites or ancient squid-headed gods) might tell me to do?

I've heard, to some extent, about the verizon reps and their undying love for taskkiller (the guy who was helping me out installed it) and so I've been avoiding using it, lest I hurt my wonderful shiny brand new droid.

It should be mentioned that I am a total android noob-have never used any phone with it on, and I upgraded from an LG Voyager, so this is kind of a jump for me...

Thanks in advance!

Advertisement
  2. imronburgundy

imronburgundy Well-Known Member

Task killer is awesome.

3. sj993

sj993 Member

I had task killer on my droid. I eventually deleted it and the phone ran smoother without it than it did trying to constantly close apps that would keep re-opening.

4. Birdman2004

Birdman2004 Well-Known Member

So i guess you were there, Lurkr? ha Wouldn't have known you if i saw you i guess! But, I picked one up too, and yeah, the guys there put the app killer on mine also.

Has anyone tried charging the X through a laptop with the supplied USB cable? Not working for me?

5. Lurkr

I definitely was:) Didn't arrive till about 11 though, was really happy when I only saw 20-25 people ahead of me. I was the guy sitting on the hood of his car TRYING to work on his laptop after they took our names/numbers.

I haven't tried to charge it yet, the damn thing is still 1/2 charged since last night. Are you using the wall adapter or plugging into a computer?

6. Birdman2004

Ah... I was that guy with the blue and white striped shirt fifth in line looking like this :D

I was trying to charge it by connecting it to a laptop with the USB cable

7. Lurkr