Unresponsive touchscreen after failed RUU on HTC DesireHD, help.


Last Updated:

  1. SilentAstro

    SilentAstro New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    to make a long story short, I am an android noob who treaded into realms too complex.

    I downloaded the ICS rom for htc desire and then it went to a white htc screen. I then tried to recover from the backup, everything went fantastic until the lockscreen appeared. the touchscreen was unresponsive.

    Then I put a new ROM that was compatible with dhd, onto the sd card, same thing happened. Will it be alright if I changed the digitizer?
    I am losing my sleep and am in the brink of throwing the phone out of the window.
    Any help would be grateful.
     

    Advertisement
  2. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,061
    Likes Received:
    8,528
    So you're rooted? If so, how did you root and what's the current status of your bootloader? Can you still access hboot ok? What rom.zip did you use exactly? And one final question...any chance you have the SDK installed?

    Moving this thread to the DHD root forum. You're gonna need some experts and we have some that hang there. And by the way, welcome to AF, even if its under spooky circumstances. Hopefully we can get you sorted. :)
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  3. SilentAstro

    SilentAstro New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
  4. SilentAstro

    SilentAstro New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    it is fixed. After trying several official ruu, I managed to fix it. I am going to be more careful now.
    I had the advanced ace hack kit. I only rooted it 2 days ago. I am entirely new to android rooting and custom ROM thing.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  5. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,061
    Likes Received:
    8,528
    Oh perfect! Ignore my pm then. :D
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  6. ral

    ral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    957
    Do you still want to try custom ROM's. If you are willing to go it slow (since differences in time zones will result in answers far apart), we can verify your phones status, root the phone again (I am assuming the RUU unrooted your phone but am not sure about this), verify all is well, install 4Ext recovery (CWM is fine but this is what I am familiar with), back up your current ROM and proceed to installing whatever you want.

    If something goes wrong, your previous working ROM is five minutes away :)
     
  7. SilentAstro

    SilentAstro New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    My phone got unrooted so I rooted it again, although the annoying t-mobile logo keep appearing everytime I reboot now.

    I got the jellytime 10. It is looking very good with nova launcher. I have clockworkmod, which has a backup feature so I guess it is ok. Thanks for the help.
     
  8. ral

    ral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    957
    :D Great to hear. It is always best if you figure it out yourself rather than have someone guide you trough it. But if ever you need guidance on some issue, there are a bunch of people here willing to help.

    I cannot explain why the T-Mobile logo is showing up... that should have been wiped when you installed JellyTime.
     
    SilentAstro likes this.
  9. scotty85

    scotty85 Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11,139
    Likes Received:
    7,418
    im assuming the t mo logo he is refering to is a splash screen(like the htc most of us see)

    silent astro glad you are up and running :smokingsomb:
     
    SilentAstro and ral like this.
  10. thesun

    thesun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I new here, Hello everyone!.

    My lovely DHD got latest ICS from Blackout release, and due to some problems with Skype and headset I decided to go back.

    But Im not experienced and most likely made some mistakes.

    Now: DHD boot System but touchscreen is not responsive
    Before: I've run RUU from net (WWE) and got touchscreen disabled
    Before that: I reverted to backup-ed Android 2.1 through recovery boot.

    Please help. this Phone is useless now, I've spent whole Sunday searching for help everywhere.

    I can run Andro 2.1, whaterever, but please make it work again.

    Tom.
     
  11. scotty85

    scotty85 Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11,139
    Likes Received:
    7,418
    what ruu did you run? id suggest running the ruu the newest htc unbranded unbranded,assuming you to be s-off and superCID:
    .exe Shipped ROMs

    .zip Shipped ROMs
     
    ral and D-U-R-X like this.

Share This Page

Loading...