Unrevoked3 Installation aborted


Last Updated:

  1. kurt3rd

    kurt3rd Guest This Topic's Starter

    This is the screen I get after using Unrevoked...latest version downloaded today.
    I'm using Ubuntu 10.04
    I even deleted HTC SYNC from my sdcard.
    I manually attached unrevoked-forever.zip to sdcard -renamed update.zip --re-ran unrevoked3 selected apply sdcard:update.zip --success S-OFF is now true on my EVO
    After successful S-OFF re-ran unrevoked3 and no success

    HBOOT -0.97.0000
    MICROP-041f

    soff.log says:
    Got radio version:
    2.15.00.09.01
    E:unsupported radio version

    http://unrevoked.com/rootwiki/doku.php/public/forever?s[]=radio
    says:
    supported running radio: 2.15.00.09.01
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement
  2. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    I'm confused, why would you run Unrevoked3, flash Unrevoked forver, then try to run Unrevoked3 again? Unrevoked forever is part of Unrevoked3 for the Evo, meaning you get S-OFF by just running Unrevoked3. What state is your phone in now? Despite the errors you're getting, are you sure you don't already have S-OFF? I see you're in clockwork, so you must have run Unrevoked3 successfully.
     
  3. kurt3rd

    kurt3rd Guest This Topic's Starter

    Because NOTHING worked. And if you see the jpeg I attached obviously unrevoked3 didn't work. I got this screen several times so I tried different methods to get it to work.
     
  4. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Sorry, you made it sound like you ran unrevoked forever at some point to get s-off, but then ran unrevoked3 again. Is that not correct? If you boot into hboot, what does it say now? S-ON or S-OFF?

    EDIT: Okay, I think I understand what you're saying - you ran unrevoked3, which did not seem to work correctly the first time, but it must have gotten part of the way through because you have clockwork. You then manually flashed unrevoked forever, which you said worked, right? After that you tried to rerun unrevoked3 to let it get all the way through, but now it's failing at flashing unrevoked forever. Is that correct? If you already have a custom recovery and got s-off, that should be all you need. Boot into hboot and see if it's s-off or s-on.
     
  5. kurt3rd

    kurt3rd Guest This Topic's Starter

    I just tried unrevoked forever because unrevoked3 returned an error:
    E:Error in /data/local/unrevoked-forever.zip (Status 42)
    Installation aborted

    Wit doing it manually I got S-OFF on boot
     
  6. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    So you successfully ran unrevoked forever? What does it say in hboot right now?
     
  7. kurt3rd

    kurt3rd Guest This Topic's Starter

    Like I said in the first post and the others HBOOT says S-OFF
     
  8. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Ok, and from hboot, when you boot into recovery, you end up in clockwork, right? Despite unrevoked bombing out, it sounds to me like you have root.
     
  9. kurt3rd

    kurt3rd Guest This Topic's Starter

    I end up in clockwork after unrevoked says DONE.

    This screen is from the end of unrevoked doing it's thing.

    How can you think I have root when the screen clearly says INSTALLATION ABORTED ?!?!
     
  10. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Because you have s-off. What I don't know is the order that unrevoked does some things. Boot into Android and see if everything works ok. You might be missing superuser. Check it out and see. Either way, all you need to flash roms is s-off and a custom recovery, which you have. If someone wants to chime in and back me up (or prove me wrong), please do.
     
  11. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    you are right.

    op appears to have root. check for superuser app in your apps list. create a nandroid, back up your stuff and start flashing roms
     
    akazabam likes this.
  12. kurt3rd

    kurt3rd Guest This Topic's Starter

    WOW you guys have no idea what you are talking about.

    I DO NOT HAVE ROOT OR I WOULDN'T BE ON THIS FORUM

    I have achieved S-OFF, that is it. There is no root. Can't you see 'INSTALLATION ABORTED'

    I even downloaded titanium backup before I came on this forum to see if I had root and I do not have root

    Can someone please reply that actually sees the logs and the screen I posted showing I DO NOT HAVE ROOT !
     
  13. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    1) s-off is full root. Period. You can flash any rom you like now.

    2) As for root in your current rom, we already told you what to do. Check if you have superuser in your app list. It's possible that you do have root, but can't run root apps because it didn't get far enough in the process to install that. If it's there, open it and see if anything is on the list. If it's not there, install superuser from the market, and then try.
     
  14. kurt3rd

    kurt3rd Guest This Topic's Starter

    I don't have root access with S-OFF. I can't use wifi-tether or titanium backup. i get this screen when i open titanium backup.

    Unrevoked should have taken care of everything but it didn't okay. I can't do anything root with my phone. I checked my apps and I have SU but something obviously went wrong with Unrevoked.

    If S-OFF is root than I should be able to do anything root, which I can't so that's not what it means.

    If I can flash any rom than I'd like to flash a rom that gets me root. Tell me how to do that.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    S-OFF is root in that you can flash roms. It's kind of a misnomer, I suppose. It does appear that unrevoked did not get as far as rooting your current rom, even though you have superuser, which is a bit odd. You are far enough to flash roms, though

    This thread explains how to do that:
    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/194918-rooting-dummies-extras.html

    Here's a list of all the possible roms:
    HTC Supersonic/ROMs - XDA-Developers

    Your main problem, now, is that you can't seem to run titanium backup, so you can't backup your apps to transfer to a new rom. What you might be able to do is root your current rom with z4root since you already have s-off. I'd wait for confirmation from other people before trying that as I'm not 100% positive what state your phone is in and that it will work correctly.

    Also, I know you're frustrated, but I might suggest you change your tone. There are a lot of very helpful people around here, but you might not get many answers if you keep asking them this way. Just a friendly suggestion.

    EDIT: well, it seems z4root isn't in the market again.
     
  16. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    One thing I failed to mention is that you could backup everything with something like Mybackup Pro (which won't be as complete as Titanium since it doesn't require root), run the unrevoked S-ON tool, then run an RUU to take you back to full stock. At that point you could restore what you can with Mybackup, then start over with unrevoked. Personally, I wouldn't do that, but it's an option.
     
  17. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    You have to be kidding me... dude your an IDIOT! You want some freaking help and aka is bending over backwards to help and this is how you thank him? YOU clearly have no clue what your talking about. Maybe you should start doing some reading and research before you jump into rooting.
     
  18. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    Get a damn clue. If you want to actually confirm root use terminal. I would explain the process but apparently since no one here knows what there talking about I am not qualified. And I know how you can get titanium to work as well... But I forgot.
     
  19. kurt3rd

    kurt3rd Guest This Topic's Starter

    okay so I'm the idiot.

    And when I follow all the directions to root and nothing gets rooted than were am I suppose to go from there?
     
  20. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    Yes you are... You are coming at everyone the wrong way. If you want some help don't be a punk and telling people they don't know what they are talking about. When clearly you have no idea what you are doing OR how to resolve the mess YOU made. See unlike you, everyone who has tried to help you has successfully rooted their phone without a hiccup so I would imagine they have more knowledge about rooting than you. Grow up and maybe someone might actually give a damn and help you.

    With that said I will help you if you change the freaking attudue. Download terminal emulator from the market. Type "su" without quotes. Press enter. If it returns with # you are rooted. If it returns with $ you are not rooted. Once you confirm root we can move on.
     
  21. kurt3rd

    kurt3rd Guest This Topic's Starter

    Okay sorry for being such a punk I just want to be able to wifi tether that's it.

    When I su it returns a #....
    this is weird
     
  22. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Ok, so you have root. Thanks wrapkgb for reminding me about that method. I forgot you didn't need the superuser app for that.

    When you ran titanium backup earlier, were you ever prompted to grant superuser permissions to the app? What about when you run wireless tether?
     
  23. kurt3rd

    kurt3rd Guest This Topic's Starter

    when I run titanium backup or wireless tether a prompt comes up to grant root and I select grant or allow whichever one it actually is
     
  24. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    Your rooted. To fix titanium press menu and then press problems. It will install busy box and will then work. The stock rooted rom doesn't have busy box installed and that's why it wasn't working.
     
  25. wrapkgb

    wrapkgb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    242
    Now to her wireless tether go to the rooting for dummies sticky and it will guide you on how to get it working.
     

Share This Page

Loading...