Unrooting without a working power button


Last Updated:

  1. nafzimo

    nafzimo New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just last week I finally rooted my Motorola Droid (thanks for the help)! All was good until today when I woke up and the power button didn't work. It was intermittently working this afternoon, and now it does nothing.

    I was ready to unroot the phone so I could take it back to Verizon when I realized that I can't get into the bootloader screen without the power button. I tried holding the D-pad up while reinstalling the battery and I also tried the camera and volume down buttons while reinstalling the battery. The battery removal and reinstall just doesn't seem to be working to put it into the bootloader screen. Any thoughts?
     

    Advertisement
  2. JM33

    JM33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    25
    If I remember correctly when I used rsdlite, I held left on the Dpad (with the keyboard out as you would normally hold it in landscape) which is up if you are holding it as you would for portrait. I'm not sure if you had tried to access bootloader before and were successful with the method you described, but I remember the wording in the instructions was different than how I got it to work. Give this a try if you tried the other way.
     
  3. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    I know there is a widget that will reboot you into the bootloader but I dont know the name of it. Im sure someone will come along that does though
     
  4. one4u2nv

    one4u2nv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    3

    Quick Boot will do it.
     
  5. rhyno

    rhyno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Also, romloader allows you to load into boot.
     
  6. nafzimo

    nafzimo New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help. I'll try Quick Boot tonight. Is there anywhere else in this process that the lack of a power button will be a problem?
     
  7. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    nope
     
  8. nafzimo

    nafzimo New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quick Boot won't put this phone into bootloader mode. It will go into recovery, but not bootloader. I'm starting to wonder if there is something else going on... maybe the power button is just a symptom. All I did when I rooted was follow the How to Root 2.1 from Windows without losing app data from the The Guide to All Things Root Related
     
  9. klwheat

    klwheat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    If you rooted a week ago and NOW the power button started going out intermittently...my guess is HARDWARE failure...not software issue.
     
  10. mhome

    mhome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    10
    Rom Manager has a stock image. Shouldn't have to press power button if everything works right.
     
  11. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Yup. Download ROM Manager and there is an option to reboot into recovery and access your SD card for the file you need.
     
  12. RammiKan

    RammiKan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could pull your battery then put it back in and hold up while you plug in the charger. The charger will turn it on and should get you to the bootloader. (tried it, it works)
     
  13. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    I dont think that flashes you back to the stock recovery but Im not entirely sure.
     
  14. nafzimo

    nafzimo New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    All day yesterday, the power button worked fine. I had no problem getting into boot loader mode using Quick Boot or using the power button and D pad. I reverted back to stock while I had the chance, but the power button continues to work fine this morning.

    I hope Verizon believes me when I try to return a fully functioning phone!

    Oh, I had the problem with the start button in RSD Lite 4.6 being greyed out, but I changed the sdf file name to something shorter and it worked fine.

    Thanks for the help and suggestions on this one!
     

Share This Page

Loading...