unrooting without power button problems


Last Updated:

  1. davidsimon

    davidsimon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Im sending in my droid to verizon since my power button was not working and they sent me a replacement. Before I sent it in I wanted to remove root so I went into rom manager and chose a stock image to flash hoping it would do the job. Unfortunately, after I did it Superuser permission is still there. I would just use RSD Lite but since I cant get my phone to access the boot loader screen I cant get RSD Lite to recognize my phone. I was going to try to flash the older stock image from rom manager thinking maybe that would work but now when I try and flash any rom through rom manager I get this message; "an error occurred while attempting to run privileged commands". I also read that maybe quick boot would do the trick but it just force closes every time, making me think that maybe the phone isnt rooted but just has superuser permission listed(is that possible)?

    Is my phone still rooted? Any ideas for what I can do? Any help would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    I wish my memory was less fuzzy for how I got RSDLite to work, I couldn't get it to recognize my phone for the first few tries but eventually got it to work. Make your you have the right Motorola drivers installed.

    You say you can't access the bootloader screen... when you power up while holding UP on the D-pad what happens? The other way to access it is to hold up on the volume rocker while simultaneously holding the camera button, then power up with the power button.

    Side note:
    This is case-in-point for why I recommend rooting using RSDLite. If you need to revert back to stock you already have the necessary software installed and won't run into this problem.
     
  3. davidsimon

    davidsimon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sorry I left that out before. When I try to turn on my phone while holding up or while holding the volume up and camera button simultaneously, the screen seems to turn on but I do not get the motorola logo to show up. It stays this way until I pull the battery and let it restart
     
  4. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    The M logo should not show up... you should get the bootloader screen. Stupid question but you do have a Droid 1 and not a Droid 2 or Droid X right?

    Bootloader screen should look like this (even though this is not a Droid 1 in below picture it looks the same on Droid. This was the first image I could find):
    [​IMG]
     
  5. davidsimon

    davidsimon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Lol, not a stupid question, but I do not get that screen. You kind of see the screen flicker and you can tell thast its on but nothing at all shows on it.
     
  6. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    That's odd. If I were you I would test to see if maybe you are in fact at the bootloader screen and for some reason that text is just not showing up properly. Have you hooked up your phone to your PC with USB and tried to see if RSD Lite recognizes it when you are in this blank screen?

    I guess this all might have something to do with your power button problem... what is the issue with your power button by the way?

    EDIT: I forgot to address one of your issues in the original post. If you run "Fix Permissions" in ROM Manager this should help the "privelaged commands" issue.
     
  7. davidsimon

    davidsimon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    When I hit fix permissions I get a message saying "an error occurred while attempting to run privileged commands". I get the same thing when I try to flash an alternate recovery. As for the possibility of it actually being in bootloader and the screen not showing it when the screen wasnt showing anything, RSD still did not recognize the phone when that happened.

    The problem I am having with the power button is that it simply does not work. No other problems. Pretty much I have to slide open the phone a little bit when I want to turn it on, and I have the screen set on 15 second time out so thatI dont rock my battery.

    Thanks so much for helping me out with this stuff!
     
  8. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    How do you power on the phone if the power button doesn't work? I didn't realize there was another way.

    In superuser permissions does ROM Manager have superuser access?
     
  9. davidsimon

    davidsimon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    The phone automatically powers on when you plug it in or when I press other button if its not plugged in. As for superuser permissions, when I click on it, it doesnt show anything, just a black screen with a titlebar on top saying superuser permissions. I'm not sure what usually goes on their since I never messed around with it before.
     
  10. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    Well at this point I would say your best bet is to uninstall/delete superuse permissions and any other root applications and it's unlikely anyone at VZW would be able to tell that you were rooted.

    Even if they could tell, they probably wouldn't do anything about it.
     
  11. davidsimon

    davidsimon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sounds great, I guess thats my only choice. Only thing is, how do I uninstall/delete superuser permissions? It wont let me do it in the manage applications settings.
     
  12. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    Do you have Root Explorer? It's a paid app
     
  13. davidsimon

    davidsimon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    nope, any other way?
     
  14. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    Not that I know of. I was going to say Titanium Backup but I can't see Superuser. I know how to do it in Root Explorer but you'd have to decide if it's worth paying just to remove superuser.

    Honestly since the problem you are having is a hardware issue and is in no way related to software, I wouldn't worry too much about it.
     
  15. davidsimon

    davidsimon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    I would be willing to buy root explorer if I were sure it would work. Im not exactly sure whats going on with my phone now, and Im worried that since rom manager doesnt work, other apps requiring root access will not work either.

    You think if I just sent it like this, most probably nothing would happen?
     
  16. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    Most likely nothing would happen. You have a reasonable suspicion for it not to work. But you know what... you could just purchase it, see if it works, and if it doesn't uninstall within 24 hours for the "refund" and you will never be charged. Even if it does work and you don't need it anymore you could get the refund if you uninstall within 24 hours.
     
  17. davidsimon

    davidsimon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Im gonna give it a shot. What do I do in root explorer?
     
  18. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    - Open Root Explorer
    - Tap "Mount R/W" button in top right hand corner
    - Tap system
    - Tap app
    - Scroll down and locate Superuser.apk, long press and then tap delete

    Now reboot your phone and it should be gone
     
  19. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    Hey david, before you do that, I just powered off my phone and while holding up on the D-pad I plugged the charger into the USB port and I got the bootloader. Had you tried that?
     
  20. davidsimon

    davidsimon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sorry, I wasn't clear before. That was the first thing I tried and thats when I said you kind of see the screen flicker and you can tell that its on but nothing at all shows on it. Makes me worried that if I send it in theyll see that it has that problem and think theres a software issue I may have caused by rooting it.
     
  21. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    Well shit. Best thing you can do IMO is delete superuser and any other root specific applications and hope for the best. My guess is nothing will happen... the Supreme Court made a ruling a couple months ago making rooting/jailbreaking phones totally legal. It can theoretically still void your warranty but I'm pretty active on the forums and I've never seen any reports of a warranty actually being voided for this. Lots of people claim they openly told Verizon techs that their phones were rooted and the people at Verizon just shrugged it off.
     
  22. davidsimon

    davidsimon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yea, root explorer didnt work :( , kept getting FC before I could even get it to open. I guess I just need to send it in and hope for the best.
     
  23. publicanimal

    publicanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    88
    Yeah. I really wouldn't worry about it too much. Weird issue w/ the power button/bootloader though. I wonder what happened.
     

Share This Page

Loading...