Unrooting?

Last Updated:

1. 0zymandias

0zymandias New Member This Topic's Starter

Hi everybody

I'm sorry to ask a question that is (probably) so obvious, but I'm new at the whole Android thing, and need someone to hold my hand. I think the benefits of rooting the phone are pretty obvious, but I'm a bit fuzzy on the process, and want to know how to undo it when, for example, I need to send it back to the store for some reason. Is it a simpel matter of deleting some files, or is it a more involved process?

I would really appreciate any input anyone could give me on this.

Advertisement
  2. cmhock

cmhock Member

Found this in another thread...

also check xda forums on Samsung Vibrant, but looks like the same steps to unroot. As far as I can tell, should be no big deal to flip back and forth between root and stock configuration..

3. dontshakepandas

dontshakepandas Well-Known Member

Yes, it is easy to unroot if you need to, as long as you don't mess things up so badly that you cannot go in and delete the files. If that happens, they may not be able to tell that it is rooted anyways.

4. mash4077

mash4077 Active Member

I ask this in anather thread but it sould probably be here
    If rooted can we get ota updates? like froyo when its released.

5. NorCal Einstein

NorCal Einstein Well-Known Member

I'd really like to get an answer to this as well. I see rooting is pretty much all the rage, but I'm trying to figure out the downsides.

6. blackhemi

blackhemi Well-Known Member

I dont know if it was because of me being rooted or not, but after I rooted, I was never able to connected to the at&t servers. I just un-rooted and checked for updates, it connected but no updates available.

7. ducksroc

ducksroc New Member

8. grave101

grave101 Member

When you unroot do you keep all your files and data? Or is it restoring the phone to factory default? And also, can you update to froyo if your rooted with 2.1?

9. stihl29

stihl29 Member