unviersal androot, android 2.1 update


Last Updated:

  1. dizzy-daz

    dizzy-daz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ive run this program on my desire running android 2.1 update, says that its now been rooted but all games are still trying to install to the internal memory, am i missing something that will install them to the sd card??

    I am using astro file manager and also ES file manager but just cant work out how to change installation path
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    What did you do, simply root your phone (existing rom) or install a custom rom?
     
  3. dizzy-daz

    dizzy-daz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    existing rom
    firmware is 2.1 update1 what ever that means lol
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Ok

    Android 2.1 (Eclaire) itself doesn't support apps on SD. There are 2 things you can do now you are rooted.

    1) Install Android 2.2 (froyo) and use its native support to manually move some apps to SD card

    2) Install a custom rom with a2sd+, Partition your SD card with a 512MB, EXT3, Swap 0 partition so apps automatically install on SD card (thinking it is internal memory)
     
  5. dizzy-daz

    dizzy-daz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    do you hsppen to have a link for the android 2.2 rom and is it gonna install fine and work fine
     
  6. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    Wait, Universal Androot works on Desire now? Last time I tested it, it didn't, but does work on some other devices like both my LG and Motorola.
     
  7. dizzy-daz

    dizzy-daz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    well it told me that my phone has now been rooted and i have superuser permissions icon now
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    I don't really understand androot. Does it flash custom recovery? This is the essential part for flashing roms really.
     
  9. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    No, all it does is installs Superuser, it works on some devices, no flashing needed and you can remove it later for warranty purposes. You can also go to the market and install busybox or via Titanium backup. But yeah you'll need to flash recovery for ROMs.
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Thanks in which case download Rom manager from the market and use the flash custom recovery option. It doesn't actually flash it but it makes custom recovery accessible.

    Look on this forum for a thread by teppic74. He has created a close to standard rooted froyo Rom. Download it to your SD card. In Rom manager choose install Rom from SD card and select the wipe option.

    This will actually lose all your data so download titanium backup first.

    You have to be careful that you don't restore any system files when restoring titanium cause the 2.1 files are not compatible with 2.2 and you will get force close issues on some things.

    If you can live without your data, this would ve easiest as you can start fresh with no restore.

    Also make sure before changing roms, in rom manager, do backup current Rom
     
  11. dizzy-daz

    dizzy-daz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    just tried installing titanium, superuser pops up which i allow then tells me my phone aint rooted lol now im confused....how else can i backup my data
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Sounds like the rooting failed I. Which case this is all academic. Try Rom manager. If this also fails, that's your issue.

    Maybe you should look into the unrevoked rooting method? If you do go unrevoked, you won't need rpm manager.
     
  13. dizzy-daz

    dizzy-daz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    just tried backing up current rom with rom manager now i have a triangle with an android next to it, is this right??
     
  14. dizzy-daz

    dizzy-daz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    im begining to think my phone aint rooted lol....ive got rom manager installed and clockwork also installed....so all i need to do is backup my data then flash with new rom using rom manager? am i right??

    sorry bout all the questions
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Yes. But if you can't reboot into recovery via Rom manager either via that option or using backup, Its not going to work
     
  16. dizzy-daz

    dizzy-daz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    i pressed a button while the triangle and android was up and it took me to clockworkmod recovery menu where i just clicked on reboot for now.

    if i cant backup data using titanium because im not rooted how else can i back up??
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    You can try mybackup but you're not going to restore much. Sms and call logs really.

    If by pressing vol up and power to get to clockwork, best to backup and flash from there directly.
     
  18. dizzy-daz

    dizzy-daz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    didnt realise i can backup using clockwork....gonna give it a go once kids are in bed and will let you know the outcome, fingers crossed all goes well
     
  19. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Clockwork backup is different to titanium. Clockwork (nandroid) backup is a snapshot of your entire ROM, so if all goes rom you can restore your phone as was.

    Titanium is for taking existing data from one rom to another. If your happy with sms / call logs then mybackup doesnt need root.
     
    dizzy-daz likes this.
  20. dizzy-daz

    dizzy-daz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    just flashed it now its just looping the boot screen 'HTC quietly brilliant' help!!!
     
  21. ajanu

    ajanu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    When the phone tries to boot normally you get the HTC screen? The 1st time you load a ROM they can take a long time to boot as it is still doing things related to the install. If your sure it's not doing anything, all you can do is pull the battery out to stop it. Reboot the phone normally to see if it will boot, but dont put the cover back on incase it doesn't. If it doesn't, reboot the phone holding -Vol to get back into recovery. From there you can chose to restore your backup you created which should give you your rooted(?) 2.1 back as it was.

    If you installed MoDaCo, did you happen to see what was going on before it booted? I know that it ships with a radio to install. Pulling a battery during a radio install can brick phones so you should be double sure your stuck. If you don't do anything, the phone will die eventually giving the same effect.
     
    dizzy-daz likes this.
  22. dizzy-daz

    dizzy-daz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    its definately not doing anything, left it for bout 10 minutes looping incase it was finishing flashing, took battery out put it back in and restarted and still doing same thing. Is the backup i created with clockwork saved in the folder clockwork on the sd card??
     
  23. dizzy-daz

    dizzy-daz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    restoring it now, why would it do that?? i really want to root my desire as not got any room on internal memory lol
     
  24. dizzy-daz

    dizzy-daz Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Big thank you to you both, i now have a rooted desire running 2.2 :):) over the moon lol
     
  25. ajanu

    ajanu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    No worries. For anyone wondering its always a good idea to wipe before installing a New Rom. It is required when going 2.1 to 2.2.
     

Share This Page

Loading...