update available (May 7, 2013)General


Last Updated:

  1. cary328is

    cary328is Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    427

    Advertisement
  2. tphillips84

    tphillips84 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    I tried and got same message.. said about trying later or updating via Samsung Kies
     
  3. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    if you get that message, just go into your clock options and set the time to the 24 hours ahead and it will let you
     
    tphillips84 likes this.
  4. Money_Mark

    Money_Mark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    10
    I never had a lag issue with the old firmware, but I did notice that the battery was draining rather fast. 5% within the first hour had become normal since I purchased last weekend. Since the update, the battery seems to be more efficient now.
     
  5. 2badmice

    2badmice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    16
    I've not had any lag, battery issues, or the update, happy as I am to be honest.
     
  6. jamsterdm

    jamsterdm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    9
    Does it give us some more internal memory?
     
  7. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    no, and no update will give any significant amount of memory if any at all. to gain memory, they would have to remove several features, and they arent going to do that.
     
  8. Kcttocs

    Kcttocs Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    11
    So what was the upgrade? I just upgraded my gs4 on att. Don't notice any differences
     
  9. NineToTheSky

    NineToTheSky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    37
    I am in the UK. A few days ago I downloaded a large update through Kies (it wasn't available directly through the phone).

    I am now on Android 4.2.2, build number JDQ39.I9505XXUAMDM. Is this the upgrade you are talking about, or is it a new one?
     
  10. Kcttocs

    Kcttocs Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    11
    Here is a snap shot
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Sylon

    Sylon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    30
    Received the update this morning. RAM usage did drop for me, which is nice but I never ran into RAM issues before. Also, returning to the home screen from an app is a lot smoother now. That is where I saw the "lag" before a lot, which I'm pretty sure was just a framerate issue. The transitions when switching between apps is snappier too.
     
  12. Eric618

    Eric618 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    10
    I installed this AM. The update went smooth. I did have to use Motochopper to re-root. That was no problem. I do see an improvement in speed and smoothness.
     
  13. searcher61

    searcher61 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    On sprint have not received it yet. Got my phone on the 27th.
     
  14. 84guy

    84guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    46
    Got mine about this morning on Sprint. Alot smoother overall and seems to have a little better ram management
     
  15. Poweranimals

    Poweranimals Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    10
  16. searcher61

    searcher61 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Naw..still shows MDC
     
  17. 2badmice

    2badmice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have the same Android version as you, am I assuming this is the update, if so it must have been pre-installed.
     
  18. Shocky

    Shocky On Probation

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,872
    Likes Received:
    319
    Nope, It's not the same and MDM lags.

    US getting the update first feels a bit strange though, it's usually the other way around so just have to play the waiting game now.
     
    Mutant04 likes this.
  19. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    I updated my AT&T S4 last night, and had no issues with the auto rotate at all, but I also didn't see any real significant improvement. My S4 was amazing before, and is still amazing.
     
    2badmice likes this.
  20. Poweranimals

    Poweranimals Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    10
    I finally got the update on Sprint. Haven't noticed any changes.
     
  21. zeker

    zeker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did the update on AT&T. It seems a bit snappier in speed, but placebo can be very powerful!
     
  22. dmobley88

    dmobley88 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was told by an att Rep at the repair center not to use the att software update as it breaks the phone
     
  23. Mutant04

    Mutant04 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    I got my S4, very happy, fast, smooth, no probs. I'd read that a few people had reported lag, but not noticed this.

    I then received an update (70mb in size), so I downloaded and installed. Now I have lag city. My S4 is considerably slower. Tapping contacts, messaging, email, camera icon etc. are much, much slow, in fact the whole phone just seems sluggish now.
    very disappointed and wish I'd never updated. :(

    My device is stating: I9505XXUAMDM.
     
  24. Poweranimals

    Poweranimals Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    10

    Why would they send out an update that breaks the phone?
     
  25. speedlever

    speedlever Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    69
    My build number after the update is:jdq39.i337ucuamdl
     

Share This Page

Loading...