Update Bricked me?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Craxer

    Craxer Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    So I woke up to a nice update message on my phone and decided to install it this morning. When I looked at my phone about 30 minutes later it is stuck on the Samsung Vibrant screen. I pulled the battery and I hear the music playing but it just sits there. I am rooted but everything is pretty much stock minus the GPS and Lag fix. Would flashing with Odin fix this? I'm kinda pissed right now. Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    263
    Yup. it will. Just take care which files you use to flash it.
     
  3. bootsie

    bootsie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yeah have to flash with ODIN, alot of people have had this issue
     
  4. howetechnical

    howetechnical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    Same thing happened to me last night. What fixed it was only flashing the JI6 tar file in the PDA field of Odin. Also make sure to uncheck the re-partition option at the top left. No settings or files or apps lost, and my device is now running the stock OTA of JI6 (through manual download, obviously). I had an issue with drivers, where the original ones I installed worked with ADB but not Odin. Downloaded the setup application recommended on xda forums, that worked.
     
    Opus92 likes this.
  5. Craxer

    Craxer Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yea, it ended up working. Sad thing though was that it would not boot up without reverting to stock then flashing, so I had to repartition it :mad:. But I did get it back up and running so I'm happy with that.
     
  6. Craxer

    Craxer Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    Now that it is up and running I connected it to my laptop and there is no notification for USB. I have it selected as mass storage, yet I cannot mount it. Has anyone else had this problem?
     
  7. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Have you rebooted a time or two? I had the same problem this morning. After I rebooted it was okay.
     
  8. Craxer

    Craxer Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just tried, even pulled the battery for a couple seconds. Still no good.
     
  9. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    Hmm...have you rebooted the laptop as well? I had it happen once that I needed to reboot my desktop for things to behave again.
     
    Craxer likes this.
  10. Craxer

    Craxer Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'll try that now and see. Thanks.
     
  11. Craxer

    Craxer Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    Didn't work unfortunately. I will try again when I get home on my desktop. Thanks again WB
     
  12. Craxer

    Craxer Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok, well if anyone else is having USB problems like I did, would only charge when hooking up to a PC and not able to mount anything, I enabled debugging mode and it worked. The only thing is I have to have debugging mode enabled when I want to mount it now.
     
  13. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    That's interesting. As you know that didn't used to be the case. I leave debugging on all the time for the sake of convenience. And of course you need to have it on if you use ADB on the computer.
     
  14. artcriminal

    artcriminal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine got bricked by the ota update too. Tried restoring from nandroid. Goes thru all the motions and never gets past the Vibrant screen on reboot. So, I download Odin and the appropriate files. I figure out how to boot into download mode on my phone. However...Odin only seems to see my phone when I boot into recovery or regular mode. In fact windows is unable to recognize the usb device when in download mode specifically. Help!
     
  15. flywatt

    flywatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you're having the same problems I had, you're missing the driver called "Gadget Serial". Download Samsung Kies. It's free, and it has the drivers you need to reconize the usb device. Reboot your computer after you install Kies.
     
  16. artcriminal

    artcriminal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Already have Kies installed. It would never connect with my phone when it worked. Any other ideas. I have reproduced the same port issue with odin on two xp machines. sees it if I boot up normal or into recovery but not in download mode and windows complains. Where would I check to see if my version of Kies has that driver? I searched the kies and samsung usb drivers folders and can't find anything with a name like that. I have also installed pc studio. ideas people?
     
  17. flywatt

    flywatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    6


    Try this. It was suggested to me by w_bovine, but I was able to resolve the issue before hand.

     
  18. Comicazy

    Comicazy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. artcriminal

    artcriminal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Comic your fix was the first and obvious choice before all this other stuff. Already tried wiping and restoring. I even have two back ups of the whole system on the phone that I have used to restore already in the past with success. The restore runs and the damn thing still never gets past the samsung vibrant screen. I have used the clockwork mod recovery image. I have installed umpteen samsung usb drivers to use for manual install. They don't install when I am in download mode and trying to manually install a driver to appease windows complaints that only happen when I'm in download mode. I need to flash this little bastard. I am getting a replacement but I need my data. I have even tried manually mounting it in clockworkmod recovery mode to see if I could just copy what I needed. I have attempted to install the mysterious "gadget serial" driver by way of samsung pc suite, samsung sdk AND samsung kies. I can effortlessly get into both recovery and download mode. I just can't get my pc or odin to see it once in download mode so I can flash it. I am at the end of my rope. In fact, when I am in download mode and windows complains I have went to the appropriate folders to attempt a manual install and windows says it can't find device information. The theory that a brand new cable that works just fine in normal or recovery mode holds no water either. If it works in one mode then it ain't the culprit in another. Copper is copper. Any insights?
     
  20. Comicazy

    Comicazy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    artcriminal-were you running a ROM at the time? Flashing a fresh ROM was the final fix that worked on my friends phone. Try flashing a ROM, then restore a backup after that. Hope that helps. Let me know. Feel free to post on my thread if that method works for you.

    Comic
     
  21. artcriminal

    artcriminal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I cant flash another rom if I can't use odin to install from my pc. If the phone isnt up and running I cant download a rom ota. Clockworkmod had a file called recovery-update.zip and another file by the name of su-2.3.1-ef-signed.zip. I don't know if either of those qualifiy but installing either did nothing to help. I never downloaded other roms. I've barely had the phone. Even with all my research and geaking I really don't fully understand what distinguishes a rom from other files installed by the said same rom manager. rom manager supplied the su-2.3.1 file as a rom. I'm a linux geek and this is really disappointing me as far as dependability
     
  22. Comicazy

    Comicazy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installing the ROM is done through clockworkmod recovery. I will update the steps in my thread to show how to get into it.

    Comic
     
  23. artcriminal

    artcriminal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can get into it. I just can't seem to find the appropriate file to install. Looking forward to your update.
     

Share This Page

Loading...