Update to 1.6?Support


Last Updated:

  1. bumster

    bumster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I recived my HTC Magic phone some days ago(love it) and reccently saw there was a 1.6 update on android.com?


    How do I get it? Bought the phone without any mobile operator bindings.. but iam using telia.

    Best Regards
    Bumster.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Miss_Almie112

    Miss_Almie112 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    20
    The update for the 1.6 donut has only been released in the UK and the US OTA (over the air). Apparently this is the only way that the magic will receive its update and you can not get it through a download on a site. I'm still waiting in Canada for it. AHHHHH!!!!
     
  3. bumster

    bumster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, thanks.

    So Iam waiting for android to release it for Sweden then?

    Is there anylist or anything, so I know when it will be "aired"?

    Best Regads
    Bumster
     
  4. Miss_Almie112

    Miss_Almie112 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    20
    Unfortunately nothing right now, you will just have to try and keep updated through the wonderful internet. And hope that it will be released in all countries that have the HTC Magic SOON! :D
     
  5. bumster

    bumster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks,

    Thats kinda sucky though.

    Remembered on the iphone, just check for update, that was great.

    Hope Android will get better on notification on updates.

    Best Regads
    Bumster
     
  6. Steem

    Steem Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ours is better than iPhone's. The Magic automatically scans for updates available over the air and you will be notified right away when the update is available to download straight from the phone.

    Apple requires you to connect to iTunes on the desktop while Magic does it over the air (thru the network or wifi).

    All it needs is your patience.
     
  7. bumster

    bumster Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    That is really great, but the android could give a hint when newstuff arives. :)



    Thanks everybody.

    Best Regards
    bumster
     
  8. Steem

    Steem Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. It does. An update available icon appears on the top left hand corner of your phone screen when a new update is available for the market apps you have downloaded or the OS. I was quite impressed with this as compared with my previous experience with my N97 and the iPhone.
     
  9. Miss_Almie112

    Miss_Almie112 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    20

    The apps that you have downloaded do not automatically show an icon to download an update to the app unless you actually go into the market place to see your downloaded apps and see that there is in fact an update to download. This is true for the 1.5 version, unless you are speaking about the 1.6 update and that is the way that it shows an update is available?
     
  10. slarti

    slarti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have to disagree with you here, 2-3 times a week I get an icon in the notification tray (Top left corner) telling me there are app updates available for download from the marketplace. I click on the icon and get taken to the my downloads area of the market place, this is with android 1.5.

    It's a standard feature I don't know why it's not working for you.
     
  11. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    @Slarti , Thats the way it is suppose to be. But a few months ago It stopped working for me for some reason so Now I don't get any type of icon and I have to go to the Market to check for Updates. Just a Minor inconvenience but my apps still get updated :)
     
  12. Steem

    Steem Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup. Mine too. Don't need to go marketplace before the update icon appears on the 1.5.
     
  13. MoreYummy

    MoreYummy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    How did it work even before 1.6?

    I never see any icon to tell me update, i always have to check market place for update.
     

Share This Page

Loading...