Update to Galaxo or GOASP - Warranty?


Last Updated:

  1. bhappyharsha

    bhappyharsha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was going through some of the guides (Pretty informative, i must admit) and found that updating the firmware is a better way to get the I7500 work. However, i am not sure if my warranty will be void if i do that....

    Whatever the case, i have a couple of questions:

    • Can we go back to the original firmware even after updating the ROM to say Galaxo?
    • What benefits does this warranty provide us?

    I have never tried to fiddle with my phone after buying it and my phone's firmware version is 1.5
    Baseband version is I7500DDII3

    Regards,
    Sri Harsha.
     

    Advertisement
  2. golanster

    golanster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    4
    1. after installing the recovery from drakaz you can do a nandroid backup which will backup everything so you could go back to that point anytime

    2. i had a bad charge port two weeks ago and when i put the phone at my provider (cellcom israel) i t was with gaosp nightly and the people there dosnt know nothing about the rom itself. and dont care they saw it wasnt charging and gave me a replacment phone. i did a nandroid backup at home for the nightly too so after 5 minutes i had it working.
     
  3. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    The best thing would be to find your original firmware somewhere on internet. That way, you can flash it using Odin and everything would be back to just like when you bought it (the custom recovery is gone too).
     
  4. maurinet

    maurinet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    What DaSchmarotzer says is important, restoring a nandroid backup won't restore your phone to it's original firmware, os and recovery, and so you wouldn't be able to use your warranty if your phone breaks.

    Look in settings -> about phone for your firmware version and google it, you should be able to find it somewhere in the internet.

    Once you have your original firmware, you can proceed to upgrading to whatever ROM you want and be rest assured that you can always go back to the original firmware to use your warranty (going back to the original firmware is done through Odin).

    Good luck,
     
  5. dakodon

    dakodon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I even have the same thing. I m using the latest nightly (29/10/10) with baseband JC6. Now I want to revert to my original firmware II3 with Android 1.5 (didn't find it on net so II5 wud do which i found).

    1. Now can I install this old firmware with my current recovery (Drakaz Recovery 6) keeping current gaosp+jc6 intact in nandroid.

    2. What if I Odin this firmware II5 and re-install Drakaz recovery, copy current nandroid backup files (which i wud copy from /sdcard/nandroid directory) so that i can swap between Android 1.5 II5 firmware and GAOSP with nandroid. Would this thing work?
     
  6. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    1. No you can't, as they can only be installed using Odin (to my knowledge) and they will restore the original recovery. You'll have to install the custom Drakaz recovery via ADB again if you want to go back.

    2. Yes, that would work. But you'd have to do a Nandroid backup after installing the custom recovery again (that was kind of obvious, just wanted to remind you ;)). However if you want to bring your phone back in a store (for warranty stuff), you'd have to flash the original firmware with Odin again as your phone would have the custom Drakaz recovery instead of the original recovery.
     
  7. dakodon

    dakodon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    thnx.. i think i would go with 2nd option only.. reason for that is battery usage.. in latest gaosp battery lasts only 18-20 hrs.. while in old firmware like ii5 (android 1.5) i used to get 100-120 hrs.. so wud install gaosp over ii5 instead of jc6 or jb2..
     
  8. Lelouch

    Lelouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    70
    That wont help. The battery drain will still be the same, just wait till Drakaz releases the next nightly. Maybe the situation will improve for the battery drain.

    Anyway, with the latest nightly my battery is way over 100 hrs and still don't need to recharge the battery. There's a workaround for now to increase the battery life for the last nightly.
    P.S: it isn't a permanent fix :p
     
  9. dakodon

    dakodon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whoa.. Thats too good.. can u give the tweaks for the same..
     
  10. Lelouch

    Lelouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    70
    It's not a tweak, just a temporary solution until the real fix is done. Maybe in the next release this is fixed (the speaker is always on).

    Steps:
    - after the charging reset the phone
    - now either put your phone in silent mode or regulate the vol. down to the min. (choose your own - i have it on silent)
    - also in Sound put the Silent state "ON"

    This last step is a real bothersome, but it works - until the next release is a must do in order to get more out of the battery
    - after each call (in or out), reset the phone (Galaxy)

    I know this last step kills the point of having it, but if you want to have the latest nightly on and not to charge the phone each day is a must do step. Of course, there's the nightly from September which doesn't have the battery drainage problem, but it isn't so fast as the latest nightly. So your choice on this one also.

    P.S: on Drakaz site you have the latest nightly and also the previous ones. So you can check the previous ones also. :p
     
  11. dakodon

    dakodon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    @lelouch: thanx for dis.. i would definately try this next.. right now m lost in the history.. ie using 1.5 android.. feel like flint stone.. ha ha..
     
  12. bhappyharsha

    bhappyharsha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do we reset the phone? Is it the same as restart? Also, as mentioned in the previous posts, if the silent state is on, wouldn't there be a chance to miss calls?

    Regards,
    Sri Harsha.
     
  13. iamssk

    iamssk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I am from chennai. I am planning to do update from 1.5 to higher ones. Still not able to gather courage for it.

    Would like to get tips or help (if possible over phone). Can I ? BTW, I am a linux user but still not sure if the flashboot from linux can be done without bricking the phone.

    Thanks,
    Sendil
    Galaxy I7500

     
  14. iamssk

    iamssk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Harsha,

    Let me know if you were successfully able to update it.

    Thanks
    Sendil,
    Chennai
     
  15. stickus

    stickus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    Linux user here too, fastboot worked fine for me. Just make sure that once you have flashed the new recovery package from Drakaz, that you make a Nandroid backup of your current 1.5 to your SD. This way, if you need to take the unit back for warranty repair, you can flash back to factory software. Also, keep in mind that Odin will NOT run under linux. Not in Wine, not in a virtual machine, just not at all. Period.
     
    iamssk likes this.
  16. maurinet

    maurinet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    All you need to do is find your original firmware on the internet in case you want to go back to it to use your warranty. Once you find it, you can always flash it back with Odin.

    I haven't heard of anyone managing to brick their phone, just follow the instructions carefully step by step and you should be fine.

    Good luck!
     
  17. iamssk

    iamssk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I successfully flashed the "recovery.img" from Recovery-6.5.1 (http://www.drakaz.com/FILES/GALAXY/?file=RECOVERY_6.5.1.zip) I got the recovery menu with all options.

    a) I also copied the SAMSUNG.tar from I7500XEJC6.zip /sdcard
    b) Renamed Galaxo_V1.6.3.4 to update.zip from Download | drakaz

    The issue is when I click on Wipe Data/Factory Reset or Apply update.zip it shows this message

    --- Installing new image!
    --- Press HOME to confirm, or
    --- any other key to abort..

    I tried all the possible keys.. but none of the key it accepts as HOME key.. and it aborts !!

    strange.. Please help me

    Thanks
     
  18. maurinet

    maurinet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    The "home key" is the one between the "back key" (arrow) and the "on/off/hangup key".
     

Share This Page

Loading...