Update when rooted?


Last Updated:

  1. Cl8rs

    Cl8rs Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    17
    Just a quick question, when you are rooted, can you still update to newer firmwares/software(for example Froyo, if it gets released)? I read on another forum, if you root a phone, you can't update. Is this true? If I un-root the phone, can I get updates? I used Universal Androot, if it helps...
     

    Advertisement
  2. flick159

    flick159 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    19
    If you've rooted the stock rom, you can apply ota updates, you will simply lose root access.

    If you've rooted your phone, applied a custom recovery and custom rom, the custom recovery will block ota updates from installing.
     
  3. Indifferent22

    Indifferent22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    20
    Not sure, but here is how easy it actually is.

    Download the Universal Androot you click one butt on un root it, then update.

    Once finished just hit root, and voila it's updated and rooted.

    As far as I know though, you can update while rooted.
     
  4. death2all110

    death2all110 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    1,208
    Yes, unless you have a rom installed, removed stock apps, and/or have a custom recovery. custom recovery blocks it, removed stock apps will cause it to fail because lg uses a patching system instead of a find>replace system
     
  5. dumbteentarget

    dumbteentarget Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    8

    I believe this is right, but IF the update is ever released, i/we have to go all the way back to v6 to get ota updates back cus drell's stock v8 isnt really stock right? that is if i didnt make a backup of my stock rom.
     
  6. netizenmt

    netizenmt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    111
    Sounds about right, but really, it's very easy to return to stock. Check out the forums here to see how. First thing I did when I rooted and flashed Velocity was to undo the process so I would know how when/if the time ever came that I would need to. Froyo may or may not be the reason. I've got a wait-and-see attitude about it. Wait until it's been out long enough to uncover all the stuff that doesn't work as expected and see if Verizon/LG fix them or not. :D
     
  7. Cl8rs

    Cl8rs Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    17
    Okay, I didn't install any roms, remove stock apps, and/or have a custom recovery. The only reason I rooted was to get Barnacle WiFi Tether. That can't screw anything up right?
     
  8. Indifferent22

    Indifferent22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    20
    Nope, filler
     
  9. Cl8rs

    Cl8rs Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    17

Share This Page

Loading...