update.zip for stock kernel?


Last Updated:

  1. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does anyone know where I can find an update.zip to revert back to the stock kernel? I have suddenly found myself in a boot-loop for no apparent reason. I have been running NexBeast 0.9 for a few days without issue and today my phone ran out of battery. When I set it on my home dock it turned on, but it is just in a continuous boot loop right now. Sometimes it gets to the lock screen, other times it doesnt even get that far, before going back to the "Droid" text logo and then then red eye boot animation again.

    To top it off, it looks like there is something wrong with the micro-USB port on my droid...it is VERY touchy and I cant even get it to connect to my laptop anymore so that I can get into an ADB shell :(
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Gimme a few minutes and I can make you an update.zip to get back to the default kernel used in Bugless Beast (600MHz). I don't have a copy of the actual, original 2.0.1 kernel though.
     
    sublimnl likes this.
  3. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    thanks fab...
     
  4. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Let me know if this works:

    AdamZ-stock-update.zip

    Pay no attention to the updater scripts, I didn't bother changing them.
     
    sublimnl likes this.
  5. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    damn, same thing happens even after going back to that kernel. any ideas what could have gone wrong here?

    nevermind that other stuff i posted. adb shell working now...any tips anyone can offer to try and get back up and running would be appreciated!
     
  6. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    I hope you have a recent nandroid.

    In recovery, adb shell and

    format DATA:
    format CACHE:
    format SYSTEM:

    and restore your working nandroid. Hopefully the formats cleaned out whatever went wrong (which I'm guessing is not the boot image)
     
    sublimnl likes this.
  7. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    ugh, i wiped my nandroids the other day, though I could have sworn I left my most recent. it aint there though.

    is there any way I can backup all my data before wiping and restoring a fresh nandroid?
     
  8. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    You can make a nandroid of what you have now. Then flash a fresh install, and try to restore only the DATA partition.

    If your problem wasn't on the DATA partition, then everything should be fine. If the issue was with the DATA partition, then it'll follow to the new install.
     
    sublimnl likes this.
  9. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok thanks. just downloaded your nextbeast nandroid and gonna start from there and restore data if I manage to get that to boot up.
     
  10. sublimnl

    sublimnl Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    2
    back up and running now...thanks for the help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...