update.zip lag fixSupport


Last Updated:

  1. soloecho7

    soloecho7 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys i have a question i see that there is an update.zip lag fix now but it looks as though it roots and installs fix im alrady rooted running stock 2.1 and not sure of how to load the instructions say up menu and power buttons held for a few seconds but that doesnt work for me im thinking since im rooted i should load from up down and power menu.and im curious if what it does if your already rooted.sorry im kinda new to rooting i rooted and installed cyanogen on my g1 but im alittle more worried about this phone than i was about my g1
     

    Advertisement
  2. The K-Zoo Kid

    The K-Zoo Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah just put the update.zip on your internal memory, boot into recovery (vol up+down+power) and hit reinstall packages. I was very skeptical at first also, but it worked out perfectly for me :)
     
  3. soloecho7

    soloecho7 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply I will give it a shot
     
  4. The K-Zoo Kid

    The K-Zoo Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    6
    Good luck :D
     
  5. soloecho7

    soloecho7 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    worked like a charm benchmark scores where 890s now 2180s I don't put that much faith in the benchmark scores but the phone definitely fells faster in and out of apps and calls
     
  6. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    Sorry, but where are you guys getting this "fix" from? Where is it discussed what it does?

    Also, can someone point me to the exact update.zip file I should be using for the Vibrant as well as instructions on how to apply it?

    Can it be reversed?
     
  7. perpetual

    perpetual Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is the lag fix worth the 1gb of app storage that you lose ? Usually how much app storage are you left with after the fix? Also, will the fix prevent you from getting ota updates (froyo)?
     
  8. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    I couldn't get this form of the lag fix to work. I had to use the batch script that runs on the pc. All the update.zip would end up doing was place its file but never seemed to run them. But the pc version isn't that hard and I got 2200+, very nice. Image when we get the new VM in froyo.

    Yes, root(which is required) == no OTA. How many times to people gotta ask? Basically you do anything to alter the phone(root, flash rom, etc) you will not get OTA updates as they have scripts that check the status of the phone.
     
  9. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    What does this fix?

    Like, on my Vibrant, it takes a good while for market to come up after I hit the downloads button. On my Droid X, it comes right up. Is that something this would fix?

    Currently running a non-rooted, stock Vibrant. Which update.zip is current and what's the process?

    There's so much going on over at xda, that I'm not sure what's current.
     
  10. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    It relocates the internal space used for applications to the on board sd memory(cus you know the phone comes with like ~16GB). The way it is currently impacts performace and thus the 800-something score on Quandrant.

    Check http://androidforums.com/samsung-vibrant/147852-root-eugenes-vibrant4-lag-fix-amazing.html for some good info. Oh and they only get renamed to update.zip when put on the phone, but they all have their own respective names. But if you root and get ROM Manager/ClockworkMod Recovery installed, then it doesn't matter what its called. You just select the zip you want to apply and there you go.
     
  11. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    So, does market open up really slowly (I know it's all relative to people with no phones to compare to, but it's night and day comparing the Vibrant to the Droid X) on the Vibrant and this fixes that or do I potentially have another issue?
     
  12. perpetual

    perpetual Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    This is precisely why I was asking. Root doesn't prevent you from getting OTA updates. Flashing a custom rom does. If you root but keep your stock rom, then you will still receive OTA updates.
     
  13. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    The lag fix takes care of a lot of things, including how fast apps open and close. The market just happens to be one of those apps that is noticeably faster after applying the lag fix.

    It sounds like your phone is normal since everyone experiences the slow market before the lag fix.
     
    lexluthor likes this.
  14. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    Ok. I guess maybe I'll do it tonight. The phone just seems so much less snappy than my Droid X. Sounds like this might be what I'm seeing, but still not certain.

    My wife will kill me if I brick her phone. I have my Droid X rooted, so I'm comfortable with going outside the box.

    So, for a non-rooted, stock Vibrant, what's the file I need and what's the process?

    Do I have to first root or will this process do that?

    Is there an easy way to go back?
     
  15. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    Nope. wrong again, at least thats what I've been told by better folks. The OTA can check for things like superuser.apk to see if you've rooted your phone, thus no update.
     
  16. perpetual

    perpetual Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    wrong again? ha ha. I never said that I was right about anything before. I'm just learning all this stuff hence why i am asking these questions. The folks over at XDA told me that rooting didn't prevent me from getting OTA updates. I've been reading a lot about this and it seems like they are right. I just wanted to know whether the lag fix would prevent me from getting future OTA updates, but I would like someone with knowledge to answer my questions. Thanks for trying anyways.
     
  17. soloecho7

    soloecho7 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    You sir are correct from what I've been able to find rooting alone doesn't keep you from getting ota updates flashing does however. After using update.zip I still have 1.14g of app install space however I only did the 512mb install phome works flawlessly market opens faster than b4 and faster than my cyanogen modded g1. I am still running stock 2.1 and getting benchmark speeds between 2180 and 2200 phone is very snappy now
     
  18. perpetual

    perpetual Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks, I really appreciate it. I might try the 512mb fix as well.
     
  19. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    I was always under the impression from people at XDA that the OTA doesn't look for things like that. I believe if the kernel is changed, then we wouldn't receive an OTA. But what you say is logical, so it wouldn't surprise me. I'm just going off of what I've read over at XDA.

    Maybe someone like Eugene will pop in here and clarify for us.
     
  20. floepie

    floepie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    Could someone clarify something for me? From what I understand there is a total of 2 GB of available application data, correct? Where is this 2 GB exactly? It's not on the internal 16 GB card, is it?

    And, when applying the lag fix, the script creates an ext2 file system (either 1 GB or 0.5 GB) that allows the application data to be written to much faster. Is it that only a subset of the application data gets written to that ext2 partition, and the rest of the app data gets written to whatever is left of that 2 GB space?
     
  21. darksandz93

    darksandz93 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    So can anyone confirm whether the lag fix will block the OTA or not?
     
  22. cmstewa

    cmstewa New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can somebody please confirm if lag fix will block ota?
     
  23. bootsie

    bootsie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    17
    Install the update and when the OTA comes up restore to factory settings. That would erase the update, right?
     
  24. jval1984

    jval1984 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where do i find the update.zip file?
     

Share This Page

Loading...