UpdateSupport


Last Updated:

  1. ffamole99

    ffamole99 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    either Samsung or Boost Mobile pushed an update to my phone... I downloaded it and did not notice any difference or changes... anyone want to help shed some light on this for me thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    You might want to give the guys a little more info like what ROM you're running and such.
     
  3. ffamole99

    ffamole99 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Android Ver: 2.3..6

    Baseband Ver. S:M820.07 X.FF19

    Kernel Ver: 2.6.35.7

    Build number
    Gingerbread.FF19

    Hardware Ver:
    M820.07

    Is this what your looking for...
     
    wetbiker7 likes this.
  4. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    3,426

    It looks like your modem was updated. FF19 is new I think. I may be wrong because I'm not using a Prevail any longer but I'm pretty sure that's what's up.:D
     
  5. exgenmeikoj

    exgenmeikoj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    78

    No its new fa19 was the latest I wonder would this block root? Or will it shed some.light.on devs as far as compatibility
     
  6. Khorosho

    Khorosho Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes i received the same thing. However I am rooted and I already know that I can't install update. But with the latest tower troubles in Toledo, I am curious if this update would improve service. If so, how might i go about updating....

    I am currently running
    Android 2.3.6
    Baseband FE16
    Kernel 2.6.35.7
     
  7. negativesaucer

    negativesaucer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    was using the rooted FE16 rom, got this update and figured wtf and installed it. didnt break root, and no obvious changes.

    *shrug*
     
  8. palmtree5

    palmtree5 Sunny Vacation Supporter! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    2,866
    I haven't gotten this yet
     
  9. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,555
    Likes Received:
    4,398
    Anyone that has the update, please snag it and upload it.
    It should be in /cache (in downloads folder, i believe)
     
  10. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On Guide

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3,038
    Likes Received:
    842
    If Nobody gets it for you, i'm still on 3.6 with the updates disabled my way. I'll turn back off and see if updates show up and get it. May work and may not, we'll see.
     
  11. kevincott

    kevincott Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,267
    Likes Received:
    296
    Nothing is currently listed as official.


    SAMSUNG


    edit: I seem to get updates 7-10 days after others. I guess I am OK with this as I learn to/not allow while waiting.
     
  12. The~Skater~187

    The~Skater~187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    460

    Agreed snag and upload.
     
  13. Khorosho

    Khorosho Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    8
    First, i looked for this update all over on my SD card and internal file system. to no avail. my phone keeps asking for me to update but everytime i try the phone reboots and gives me a yellow triangle with an '!' in the middle. and freezes. maybe someone can help me out with that.

    other than that i found this on samsungs website.....

     
  14. The~Skater~187

    The~Skater~187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    460

    if you use a root file explorer it will be in the /cache directory. It will be,labeled update.(blah blah something).zip
     
  15. cvic

    cvic Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    23
    I just got the notification this morning after flashing back to stock FE16 and I was like wtf ... Not again! Im gonna see what happens and get the update files here in a minute

    and it did work, or so i thought at first...

    i got the triangle with the exclamation point and the droid graphic, pulled my battery, then put it back and plugged into my pc to go and reflash my prevail. it randomly booted up, and its working, but not updated? wtf?

    and root is gone... so dont do the ota update!
     
  16. monticello

    monticello Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    28
    I am on CTMOD 2.5 and i edited my build prop to FE16,will i get this update? I hope it makes a positive improvement.Maybe one of the prevail veterans can sum this up (yea or nay) Thank u for your expertise.
     
  17. The~Skater~187

    The~Skater~187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    460
    No one managed to snag that update yet?
     
  18. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On Guide

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3,038
    Likes Received:
    842
    right before blood came up with 3.6 i disabled getting any updates myself on 3.6, which still ruunning. now i can't ever get any unless i flash back to before all that. just wanted to wait and see if anyone else gets it sometime soon. i was always one of the last to get any updates anyways.
     
  19. cvic

    cvic Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    23
    For some reason now that im back to stock FE16 unrooted, the damned notification wont pop up, and i cant make it start in the system update menu on the phone... but with FE16 rooted it was bugging me all day every time i unlocked my phone.
     
  20. cvic

    cvic Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    23
    I got it... Hopefully it actually downloaded properly. FF19 update attached. I had to go back to stock rooted, attempt to update, fail at it lol then flash again to stock rooted, and install es file explorer to get it..
     

    Attached Files:

    Wizard59, irishobo, wyelkins and 2 others like this.
  21. The~Skater~187

    The~Skater~187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    460
    Thanks. Downloading now.
     
    wyelkins likes this.
  22. cvic

    cvic Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    23
    wow... i feel great to have made a contribution! for real man i feel really good lol Long Live PREVAIL haha
     
  23. wyelkins

    wyelkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    443
    Anybody had a chance to look at this yet. Is it worth posting the baseband on the Odin thread yet?
     
  24. negativesaucer

    negativesaucer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    the update did not install. I got the notification again yesterday.

    my guess is that this update will, among other things, change teh google search behavior in response to a recently announced court ruling in a case brought by apple.
     
  25. Chris T

    Chris T Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Same here, I was receiving a system update notice. I'm rooted with FE16 and have link2sd installed. Decided what the heck, worst case scenerio is I will have to reinstall some apps and reroot phone.


    Well,.................. Nothing happened. Said my system is currently up to date

    Was expecting something to happen. But at least I got rid of the notification. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...