Updated to FroYo, now my Desire doesn't work :(


Last Updated:

  1. laurajayne

    laurajayne Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I updated my unbranded desire to FroYo, and now I really wish I hadn't.

    Anything that requires data is b*****d.

    My email is no longer push - I have to go in and manually refresh - which takes at least 5 minutes, and in the case of my exchange email, usually results in a sync error.

    Twidroyd, Twitter, Peep, Facebook, all timeout whenever I want to refresh them; I may get one proper update a day, but the rest of the time, nada.

    Internet is so slow now, I just give up half the time.

    WiFi flickers on and off, even though it's set to on all the time.

    Anyone got any ideas of stuff I can check, or whether I can un update - I love the aps2sd and stuff, but it's bricked the rest of my phone :( It's getting to the point where I'm actually starting to dislike the phone because it just doesn't work.

    Thanks in advance x
     

    Advertisement
  2. czechplastik

    czechplastik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    42
    This is weird, I've seen a few people mention side effects like this. My Desire has been 100% since I upgraded to 2.2, there must be something that people are doing that is causing these side effects.

    I know this isn't the most helpful post in the world, just curious. Had you done much tinkering with the phone prior to the update?
     
  3. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    172
    Re-enter your apn settings.
     
  4. laurajayne

    laurajayne Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, thank you both :)

    No - I haven't tinkered much with the phone at all prior to the update. The most I've done is added apps and changed the wallpaper! Definately haven't changed any important settings.

    Tried the APN settings - shut down the phone, turned on, and nada, same error :(
     
  5. Killyouridols

    Killyouridols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    Was it an OTA update or Manual Root/Reflash? IF Manual, Did you Flash a New Radio? Could be the issue if you Didn't and your ROM Requires it.

    KYI
     
  6. laurajayne

    laurajayne Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was the OTA update - I had some trouble downloading it, first two attempts said the update was corrupt....third worked fine though.

    Thank you all for helping me :)
     
  7. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    Have you tried a factory reset? Yes it'll wipe all apps and data but I've heard it has fixed quite a few issues and if the phone is barely usable now you've not much to lose.
     
  8. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    248
    Factory reset could be the next option to try. You will lose all your apps but you can download them all again for free after the reset, even any apps you paid for.

    I did a reset last week and the backup on my SD card restored my contacts, wi-fi and network settings, text messages, music and pictures. The only thing it didn't restore was the homepage layout and my POP email accounts, which took a few minutes to set up again.
     
  9. laurajayne

    laurajayne Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, I don't know why I didn't think of that! What a muppet!

    I've done a factory reset.....and it runs as sweet as a nut:eek: Thank you all, I like my phone again now lol.
     

Share This Page

Loading...