Updating - Please be gentle


Last Updated:

  1. TampaMike

    TampaMike Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello everyone, I've been reading these forums since I got my hero about 9 months ago. I'm still using 1.5 and I want to update to 2.1 but I just don't understand how. I have downloaded the updates to my PC but not sure how to get it from there to my phone.
    Also (and this I totally don't understand) I have gone to settings/about phone/system updates/firmware update and although I'm using 1.5 it says "no firmware update available" (how can that be???)
    I'm pretty good with tech stuff, but this is all very new to me
    and I tend to move slowly and carefully.
    Can anyone offer me advice on how to best do the 2.1 update?
    Oh and... what is an OTA update?
    Thanks and once again... please be gentle ;)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rcecarbldr

    Rcecarbldr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hook your phone to your computer via the cable that came with it and start the download you saved to your computer. It will give you step by step instructions on how to go about it.
     
  3. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    The update to 2.1 cannot be done OTA, it must be done either at a Sprint location or from you computer.

    Read more HERE.

    If you need more help, be sure to let us know :)
     
  4. TampaMike

    TampaMike Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    I ran into a couple of problems.

    I installed HTC sync... no problems that could see.
    Then I ran the update off my PC.
    It said I should turn on my hero and plug in the USB cable which I did.
    At that point, Windows began installing drivers.
    One of the 4 driver installations failed because it was unable to find the driver.
    "Windows cannot find a driver for ADB"
    I attempted to point it to several places but it didn't work.

    I then attempted to continue the update without the ADB driver install.
    I got an error message stating that the USB connection between the
    hero and the PC was faulty (but I know it was a good connection.)

    So... what or where can I find this ADB driver?
    When I asked windows to find it, it took me to HTC sync
    which I already have installed on my PC !!!

    Any ideas? And thank you for your wisdom and help :eek:
     
  5. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    Wow. There were four driver installations? I do not remember there being more than one or two at maximum. Are you sure you had your Sprint HTC Hero plugged into your computer correctly?

    Maybe you can uninstall the HTC Sync software and then try reinstalling it. Try that and see if that works.
     
  6. TampaMike

    TampaMike Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yea I just did that. I opened HTC sync and it says
    my hero is disconnected. I even tried plugging it into
    a USB slot on the back of my PC (sometimes that works)
    but it still reads disconnected.
    I did some research on the ADB driver which is Android Data Bridge.
    Apparently that's not really necessary for most individuals.
    my PC charges my hero via USB, why would it claim there's no connection?
    (scratching head fiercely)
    I just don't get it. Could be because I'm atheist? Nahhhhhhh !!!
    H E L P ! !

    I suppose I could try all this on a different PC and see if THAT works.
    Getting frustrated.. I waited to do this.... sigh.....
     
  7. TampaMike

    TampaMike Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
  8. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,820
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Well, easy solution is to take out in to sprint and have them do the update.

    What version of windows are you using? What version of sync? Have you tried rebooting the computer....
     
  9. TampaMike

    TampaMike Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    HTC sync 2.0.33
    Windows Vista 32 bit

    Good advice... I'll bring it to Sprint and let them earn their paycheck.

    Ladies and Gentlemen... thank you.. and carry on !! :cool:
     
  10. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18
    It's funny, after i installed the android sdk tools, my htc sync doesn't even recognize my phone anymore. And yes i go to the usb connection and select sync. It's not a big deal, because i do everything through the cmd prompt now but i just think it's weird.
     
  11. oldjackbob

    oldjackbob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    I've been EXTREMELY fortunate to have never actually met an atheist, but I know at least eleven Jews who've been having HORRIBLE problems with their phones, and I know a BOATLOAD of Catholics who've NEVER had a single problem with anything they've ever owned.

    jk ;)
     
    Sixxx likes this.
  12. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18

    That made me laugh... so hard.
     

Share This Page

Loading...