Updating rom requires reboot into recovery mode.. then what am I supposed to do?


Last Updated:

  1. Perser

    Perser Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Updating rom requires reboot into recovery mode.. then what am I supposed to do?

    It's an update for SS4.9.

    I get to the recovery mode screen, then what do I do?

    Just hit reboot?

    "simple nandroid backup?"

    Wipe my data?

    Install something?
     

    Advertisement
  2. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,700
    First of all, I HOPE you have made a nandroid backup so if something goes wrong you can restore the phone to its last known good state. That's what I would do FIRST if I woke up in your shoes.

    Then I would install the update WITHOUT wiping. This assumes that you have downloaded the update. Which recovery are you using: Clockwork or SP? And did you download the update through ROM Manager or through the PC?
     
  3. Perser

    Perser Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I downloaded Titanium backup tool, and used it to back up all my apps..?
    I can't seem to find "nandroid" anywhere.
    I am using ClockworkMod Recovery
    I downloaded the update through ROM Manager
    Do I name the update "update.zip" and then install it from the recovery screen?

    EDIT: OK, so I hit Backup ROM in ROM Manager, it started backing everything up somewhere and then rebooted. There's nothing called "nandroid" anywhere, but I think it backed everything up in a folder called "clockwork." Is it ok to proceed with the update.. which I don't know how to apply yet... I don't clear the cache or anything? Just name the patch "update.zip" and install it over everything?

    Another EDIT: OH. That was easy. the clockworkmod recovery screen made it simple, just crossed my fingers, hit "choose zip," installed the patch and everything worked. No wonder there's no information about it anywhere.
     
  4. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,700
    ROM Manager has an option to Back Up your current ROM (which I suggest you do as soon as you get it the way you want it) and allows you to name the backup to keep them organized. I always do backups through ROM Manager for that reason.

    Glad it worked out for you.
     
  5. Eddifire

    Eddifire Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    There is information all over this forum if you just take the time to search and Rom manager backup = nandroid backup as far as I know. If you go into stock recovery and choose nandroid you will find your backups there.
     
  6. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    ROM Manager backup is the same as a Nandroid backup. It just automatically boots into the recovery and starts the Nandroid backup process for you. If you want to do it manually, boot into recovery and select the Nandroid option if you are using Clockwork recovery.

    Make a backup before doing anything else. If you are trying to update something, you will most likely need to find the file that you're trying to install. It should be in ZIP format on your SD Card. Use the "Install ZIP from SD Card" option in recovery and locate the file, then install it.
     
    Kenbauer likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...