Upgraded to 2.1OTA? YOU CAN ROOT!!!


Last Updated:

  1. ssgtob1

    ssgtob1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    9
    Anyone that cares:

    I have officially went from 1.5 to 2.1OTA and have rooted my phone to Ivans 1.0 overclocked!!!!:D

    Paul: I have a copy of the nandroid backup if you know who I need to give it to
     

    Advertisement
  2. Hercules

    Hercules Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    3
    Great news. Thanks for being one of the guinea pigs.
     
  3. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    this is interesting, but really you not on the OTA anymore if you are on a different rom. there is no rooted roms based off the newest OTA so it doesnt change things too much for rooters.
     
  4. AndroidFantic

    AndroidFantic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    6
    How i remeber hearing about flashing the HBOOT and then pulling the battery and using a nandroid do you mind to explain.
     
  5. Sytar

    Sytar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I just got the notification of the update is available, however I do want to get root. Currently I am at stock 1.5 without root, so I am starting from what it was out of the box.

    Can someone please give me the information on what process I should use. Do I apply the OTA update first, or should I just do the update with the latest Rooted OTA update.

    Also, what does each one do. If I do the Rooted update, do I loose all settings and stuff (same as a wipe), or will it update like the OTA does and keep all settings.

    I have seen a few notes about 'recovery' images. When you get ready to update, does the app create a image of your current phone in the state it is in, or is it a recovery image that someone else made?
     
  6. gubon13

    gubon13 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    11
    I was in the exact same situation as you with the stock 1.5 (non-root), but I did the manual 2.1 OTA. After the OTA process, I followed the instructions here, but only did prerequisite step A and step I. That gave me root access on 2.1 OTA.

    Root update using the above method DOES wipe settings and data.

    If you only want root access, you don't need to install the recovery partition. You can see what features it gives you here.
     
  7. schmunkey

    schmunkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, since the OTA and leak v3 are essentially the same thing does that mean if v3 leakers were to follow those same steps we could have root?
     
  8. gubon13

    gubon13 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    11
    As I understand it, no. This is because the v3 leak used a different HBOOT loader and all of the root exploits are dependent upon the older HBOOT loader that is in 1.5, 2.1 OTA and 2.1 v1 leak.
     
    schmunkey likes this.
  9. DrewDroid

    DrewDroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Forgive me, but I'm very cautious with this stuff...

    I did the manual OTA 2.1 from 1.5 as well...I would like to have Root...when you say it wipes settings and data, what information does that include? Does it wipe my SD? Does it remove all apps? I just want to make sure that I know what I'm going to have to replace so I can take the appropriate precautions.

    thanks!
     
  10. gubon13

    gubon13 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    11
    Does not wipe SD card, but it wipes contacts, applications, and settings.
     
    DrewDroid likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...