Upgrading from WinMobile 6.1


Last Updated:

  1. normkol

    normkol Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'll be getting my Captivate tonight, it's on the UPS truck.

    What's the best way to transfer my data from my Blackjack II, running Win 6.1?

    Will the Captivate read from the Outlook file?
     

    Advertisement
  2. radi0chik

    radi0chik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    16
    I think you have to export contacts to a csv file from outlook then load them in google. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  3. rob989_69

    rob989_69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    17
  4. Reggie3

    Reggie3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    15
    As a long time window users - from the old pda days - you are correct. I did it by getting a gmail account and then importing the contacts to that.

    Unfortunately gmail does not sync with Outlook 2010 [WTF Google they only had a beta for over six months available to everyone]

    Buying the Captivate has been a love hate relationship. Love the display, speed, and the marketplace. Do not like no individual ring-tones, or the hoops to get the phone to connect via usb to my pc. Still have not got my ewallet to work yet.

    Will give it another couple of weeks or I will wait four months for the HTC HD3 and go back to windows.
     
  5. coldbeer

    coldbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. Reggie3

    Reggie3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    15
    I set up a google email account and transferred my accounts from outlook that way Bad news is Google does not sync with Outlook 2010 - so I can not update both data bases
     
  7. Deus

    Deus New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. normkol

    normkol Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for all the replies. I have Outlook 2003, so I probably won't have trouble syncing.
     
  9. normkol

    normkol Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    I exported the contacts from Outlook to a csv file, then imported them into my gmail account.

    Then I synced my gmail account to the Captivate.

    Voila!:) It worked like a charm.

    Thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...