Upgrading ROM Failed


Last Updated:

  1. Dallasguy

    Dallasguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am attempting to upgrade my ROM from the 1.7v. I dl'd the RUU file and did everything as required. However, when the bootloader tries to connect I get a prompt, "ERROR[171]:USB Connection ERROR". It asks me to make sure that the phone is connected to the USB cable and for the USB cable to be connected to the PC. Both are connected but I noticed that the phone is powered off. It will not power back on while connected. It will once I disconnect it from USB cable.

    This leads me to believe that the phone starts to do what it is supposed to but somehow disconnects. Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Dallasguy

    Dallasguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump
     
  3. globalm

    globalm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are you using the supplied UDB cable? You should!

    If you are, then I would get a replacement cable to try.

    Good luck!
     
  4. nielo

    nielo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Make sure your firewall isn't blocking:

    • HTCVBTServer.exe
    • FsynSrvStarter.exe
    Worked for me
    ;)

    nielo
     
  5. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    Make sure you downloaded the right update. They have different versions for different carriers. If you're on Orange, you need the one for Orange; if you have an unbranded Hero, you need the one for unbranded Heros.
     
  6. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    My Hero is an Asian model. I visited the HTC support site and found no ROM upgrade. Checking my phone shows that it is Android 1.5. Is there really an upgrade for me?
     
  7. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    Check the "Build Number." If its 2.73.x.x, there aren't any newer updates yet.
     
  8. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    My build number is 1.76.405.6. Does that mean mine is long outdated? How do I get the new ROM? I don't find any ROM update at htc.com support site. Mine is Asian model.
     
  9. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,381
    Likes Received:
    16,480
    That's an original ROM, and appears to be a generic HTC build (going by the 405). You could try one of the 2.73.405.x builds available here but I don't know how it would affect locale/language support.
     
  10. Dallasguy

    Dallasguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Superbaby, it appears that you and I have the same phone build and asian. Did you try to update yours? If so, were you successful?

    After taking a break from the frustration I tried again today with no luck.
     
  11. SuperBaby

    SuperBaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    No, I did not try. I visited the SEA HTC website and there is no official upgrade announced.
     

Share This Page

Loading...