upgrading SD card from 2GB to 16GBAccessories


Last Updated:

  1. redworm

    redworm Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi. What will happen to my phone, apps, settings, etc when I take out my 2GB card Verizon provided, and insert this brand new 16gb class 6 card?

    Thank you.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Twiz

    Twiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    106


    Just copy the files from your 2gb to your 16gb.
     
  3. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    Nothing, but just take whats on your 2gig card and copy it to your 16gig card and you'll be all set . Nothing will change at all except you'll have a better card with a lot more space.
     
  4. bodhi61

    bodhi61 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is what I did. First I copied card to my pc. Copied that to new card in same folders and it worked just the same with everything there.
     
  5. douger

    douger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    11
    You'll have about 14.5 gigs available to you versus the gig and a half you had? ;)

    You may need to format it.
     
  6. redworm

    redworm Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    I put this card in, a message came up "SD card is damaged, you need to format it", is this normal?
     
  7. seVer

    seVer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    119
    I would say ... no. Try formatting in your computer first, then put in the phone and try formatting again. If you still get the error, take it back the the store (if you bought it at a store) for an exchange. Then make sure it's working BEFORE you leave.
     
  8. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    For a new card, yes, it's not unheard of to need to format it first..
     
  9. redworm

    redworm Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    thx all
     
  10. Lev16

    Lev16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    27
    Hey, was curious what you guys are all getting for your 16gb card. I'm about to pull the trigger on Amazon. Wasn't sure if there is already a thread going on this. Didn't see one on quick glance. Thanks
     
  11. JasonCz

    JasonCz Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    I picked up a 16GB Class 6 Adata from Amazon for ~$60.
     
  12. greenrolaids

    greenrolaids Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    78
    just remember that if you want to take the card out and connect it to your computer with either a usb card reader or the card reader that is already installed on your computer, they have to support the newer SDHC format..

    If you try to use an older card reader that does not support the sdHC then you will go nowhere fast.
     

Share This Page

Loading...