Upgrading SD Card on Rooted EVO - Any Concerns?? Card Recommendations?


Last Updated:

  1. scudder

    scudder Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    364
    Hello...

    This issue has been sorta "asked and answered" but the information I have found information has been on phones OTHER than the EVO. I just wanted to CONFIRM everything for the EVO (which I just rooted last night and NEW to the root modifications and options) before I got into any trouble!

    I have the stock 8GB card and want to update to a larger card. I rooted my phone last night and the only "rooty" things I have done has been: (1) full clockworkmod backup to the SD card; (2) Titanium backup; and (3) moving some apps to the SD via Move2SD Enabler.

    From what I've read I can just copy the contents of my original card to the new card and put the card in the phone. I was wondering if this IS the case with the EVO? Since I am rooted with various backups saved to the SD card, are their any concerns with those files going forward? And do I have any concerns with the apps that I have moved to the SD card...will they continue to function with copy-paste to the new card inserted into teh phone??

    And lastly...also probably asked and answered a thousand times but I didn't check :( ...can anyone recommend a class/speed/brand of SD card, most likely a 16GB card but perhaps a 32GB?? I saw the following card recommended in another thread...any good?

    Amazon.com: SanDisk 16 GB Class 2 microSDHC Flash Memory Card SDSDQ-016G (Bulk Packaging): Electronics

    THANKS!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
    I have a 16 gb class 6 sdcard and love it. the read write is a littie faster. i copied/paste from old sdcard to new sdcard and have no issues. i watch videos and listen to music with no issues
     
  3. scudder

    scudder Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    364
    Can someone recommend a reputable brand and class of card that would be reliable for me to upgrade my stock 8GB card in my EVO??

    THANKS!!
     
  4. 53fireman

    53fireman Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't go wrong with sandisk or transcend, go with a class 4 or better.
     
  5. Pioneer74

    Pioneer74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    25
    I bought a Kingston 16gb class 4 card from buydig.com before Christmas for $25 shipped. Price went back up to over $30, but I haven't had any problems with the card. You can't go wrong with Kingston or Sandisk.

    Personally, for something like this, I wouldn't buy off of eBay. Too many horror stories of cheap fakes. They are either smaller capacity cards made to look like a higher capacity, or really cheap and fail not long after you receive it.
     
  6. scudder

    scudder Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    364
    Thanks...and thanks for the reminder about buying off ebay. I was actually involved in an international investigation where I wrote an email to Sandisk asking some questions about ebay auctions I was looking at (but didn't purchase). Wound up getting two cards from a LEGIT retail store (that DID have an ebay site but I did NOT buy from them) and when I got the cards after asking some questions to Sandisk, I realized that I had, side by side, received one LEGIT card and one DEFINITE FAKE from a retail store!! I contacted Sandisk (as they were familiar with my previous resent inquires) and they went back forth with me for a while!

    Anyway, thanks for the suggestions.

    And rumor has it, I just literally COPY OVER all my stuff from my old card onto my SD card yes??

    THANKS!!
     
  7. Pioneer74

    Pioneer74 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    25
    That is what i did with mine. Kept my old original card with my stock nandroid backup just in case things went haywire.
     
    scudder likes this.
  8. Muellersirch

    Muellersirch Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have a 32 GB class 10 Patriot card in my phone. The process that I used to switch cards is as follows:
    (optional) do a titanium backup
    boot phone into recovery
    create Nandroid backup
    plug phone into usb
    turn on mass storage (still in recovery - see note at bottom)
    copy entire card into a folder on my desktop
    turn phone off, replace card with new one
    boot back into Recovery, format card as desired
    turn on mass storage
    copy files back onto card
    reboot, if any problems restore the nandroid you made earlier

    NOTE: I use Amon Ra recovery, these may not work in clockwork not sure what options it has. Here is why i recommend using amon ra over clockwork:
    better track record with backing up RSA keys (for 4G) and clearing dalvik and cache
    from my experience, Amon is easier to use and looks better also
     
    jmattix likes this.
  9. scudder

    scudder Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    364
    Thanks for the play by play...very helpful. Couple questions though...

    What are "RSA keys" for 4G and why am I concerned about them??

    Secondly, what to you mean "looks better"...do you literally mean aesthetics of the UI or do you mean it "looks like it will work better??
     
  10. bvbull200

    bvbull200 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    197
    If you lose your RSA keys, your 4G no longer works and they aren't something that you can go download from XDA to fix. You need to have a nandroid backup that has YOUR RSA keys backed up with it.

    For the second, have to see what he says, but I'm sure he is talking about the aesthetics in regards to which "looks" better.
     
  11. GoofyGirl

    GoofyGirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    4
    Question - I copied as shown but when I reboot phone it has my sd card as read only. No media - says empty folder. What did I do wrong?
     
  12. mdizzle99

    mdizzle99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    108
    So I take it you are trying to transfer information to a new card? Did you format the card first? Also it may help to know what kind of sd card it is.
     
  13. GoofyGirl

    GoofyGirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, I am trying to upgrade from an 8gb card to a 32 gb card. I've recently rooted my phone and have found my space disappearing rapidly so thought I'd upgrade. It's a Kingston card.
     
  14. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    1,073
    You may need to transfer the contents of the original card to your pc, install the new card and format it through the phone then using the data cable transfer the original contents to the new card. I had to do it that way when I upgraded to my Patriot 16gb class 10 card. BTW, this card comes recommended and is inexpensive. I paid about $40 for it on Amazon and have had no issues at all with it.
     
  15. jmattix

    jmattix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've followed your instructions to the letter, but I'm having problems. I bought a 32GB class 10 card Memorex SDHC for my Evo, but after copying and pasting, I get a lot of apps that aren't installed. Then I restore from the nandroid backup (Clockwork mod) as well as a Titanium Backup and get the same errors/issues if not more. I have re-formatted my SD card before I try restoring each time (I think I'm up to five restores) and it's still not working right.

    I get the apps issues and am now getting force closes for the apps and the htc app launcher.

    One other thing, since I installed the new SD card, my phone is telling me that it's low on space. Now, I moved all of the apps onto my old SD card, but after I install my new card and restore my phone, I find that I can't move any of the old apps. When I reinstall the apps that didn't restore (see above), I can move those apps, but after I restart the phone, "the app is no longer installed on your phone."

    HELP!!!
     
  16. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    Try reformatting the card from recovery with a 512 ext3 partition, then restore the apps.
     
  17. jmattix

    jmattix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I've done this, but the same thing is happening. Right now, I'm trying to copy the files outside of recovery. I booted the phone, unmounted the card, formatted the card and started transferring the files.

    It's so frustrating. Should I just remove all the apps, reinstall them and then move the apps to the card to utilize the space? I have no idea what to try next.

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...