Upgrading SD card


Last Updated:

  1. premiump

    premiump Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    19
    With 2.1 update fairly imminent, I thought I'd take the opportunity to upgrade my SD card to a 4gb or even 8gb. I have had my Hero since November and love it, but I noticed recently I have just about filled my 2gb card with data.

    So ... what is the process involved? Is it simply a case of connecting to my PC, creating a folder and dragging the lot >>> swapping the card in the phone >> then dragging it all back onto the new card?

    Any advice appreciated, thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,379
    Likes Received:
    16,473
    Yup. I'd also advise formatting the new card in the handset prior to copying the data back across from PC, just to ensure that the file system is 100%.
     
    premiump likes this.
  3. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Wow your still on 2gb? I'm looking to upgrade my 8GB to 32 GB lol..
     
  4. GordonEndersby

    GordonEndersby Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ive recently done the same with a 8gb class 6 device.
    I didnt think to reformat the card but just copied averything over to the new card.
    The class 6 faster cards are dropping in price so its worth getting one.

    Gordon
     
    premiump likes this.
  5. premiump

    premiump Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    19
    Good point about formatting in the phone first and its also that its worth getting a Class 6 card. :D

    Thx
     
  6. premiump

    premiump Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    19
    UPDATE: My 8gb class 6 card arrived yesterday and initially, I had some trouble getting it to work. My Win7 box would only initially see the card "in" the phone. Formatting wasn't a problem on the phone, but copying data to the card "thru" the Hero was really slow.

    After a little digging on the web, it turns out that a Class 6 card can't be read without an SDHC card reader (not supplied ... though I did have one) on my Win7 box. ... more info on this here ...

    Reformatted to FAT32 on Win7 (using SDHC reader) and the data copied nice and quick.

    Definitely something to be aware of for any unsuspecting user (like me) :rolleyes::D
     
  7. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Anyone see the class 10 16gb card by kingston.....
     
  8. Zbig

    Zbig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's not related to the card's speed class rating but to its capacity. SD cards with 4GB and more capacities (well ok, there were some exceptions) are of the SDHC type and the reader has to explicitly support this standard in order for such a card to work in it. To make things even more confusing, the just-announced 32GB microSDHC ones already hit the capacity limit imposed by SDHC standard and every card greater than 32GB will be in the SDXC standard requiring, again, users to buy new readers which support this (and of course the current devices won't support this although maybe in some cases just a firmware upgrade would do). Not that I'm complaining though - for me the 32GB in such a tiny thing is already freakin' insane - I still remember how happy I was when buying my 1.7GB HARD DRIVE some years ago and still remember using a computer with 64kB (yes, that's KILObytes) of RAM... ;)
     
  9. premiump

    premiump Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    19
    hahaha! My "first" computer was an Atari 1040STE ... I bought a 100mb hard-drive for it for
     
  10. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    *MY* first PC had 75Mhz of pure raw power, 32k of ram, and a .78Gbyte harddrive. I even had a cdrom.
     
  11. Zbig

    Zbig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't want to fight over "who had a more old-school hardware" but I'm pretty sure you had 32MB of RAM, which is some 512 times more than my Commodore 64 had :) Having a 75MHz CPU (my C64 had ONE MHz CPU :)) and only 32kB of RAM, that would be some freakin' abomination :). And my C64 used cassette drive for its storage and then I got a FLOPPY DRIVE which held some 170kB (that's some 4500 less than your huge .75GB hard-drive ;)) ON EACH SIDE of the 5.25" floppy disk, haha! Yes, you actually had to flip the floppy over and before you could use the floppy as double-sided, you had to cut a dent on its side first :) And MAN, IT ROCKED! :D And it run games which I actually wanted to play. And... I still have it, working just as new ;)
     
  12. GordonEndersby

    GordonEndersby Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ha!!! Luxury.
    The first machine I programmed was an Exidy Sorcerer with 4mb ram and a tape deck.
    In a cold anex so we had to wait till the room warmed up and the cassete tapes were warm enough to be read.
    The youngsters of today dont know how lucky they are.

    Gordon
     
  13. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    I remember writing basic code, on my ZX at the tender age of 11, I have my farther to thank for my obsession with Hardware and all things Techy..

    Copying games was easy back then, Get out the old tape to tape hit play and record!!
     
  14. Zbig

    Zbig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah, but on C64 there were problems with the cassette drive head getting out of tracking when playing those so you had to adjust the head with a screwdriver pretty much ever new tape you tried :) There was a special software tool for that. Heck, as a kid, for few years I thought that it's the perfectly normal software distribution model that you go to the music store and get a C60 tape with some 100+ games on it and a xeroxed leaflet with a list of the titles :) I thought they just publish it this way :) But the approach to the piracy was quite... "loose" back then in Poland (late eighties / early nineties).
     
  15. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,379
    Likes Received:
    16,473
    Has anyone seen the thread topic around here anywhere? It seems to have got lost.... ;)
     
  16. Lettuce

    Lettuce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    21
    Bought a new 4GB MicroSDHC card yesterday. Copied it all across. Phone feels faster.

    Lettuce
     
  17. Zbig

    Zbig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Good to hear but it's probably because it just happens also to be faster than your previous one. I doubt that "size does matter" in regards to phone performance ;) SD card is a kind of mass storage for the phone and shouldn't be confused with a RAM memory in computer where, in fact, the more you have, the faster it generally gets. SD is rather the phone's "hard disk". Great it works better, anyway.
     
  18. Lettuce

    Lettuce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    21
    Indeed - I fully understand. The 2Gb card that came with the phone I assume is a budget one with slow data transfer rate, where as the 4Gb one I purchased is Class 6 I think, i.e 6Mb/sec. So albums/pictures, MP3s, saved data, just loads faster :)

    Lettuce
     
  19. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    That's exactly why I am interested in the class 10 card. It will making syncing almost twice as fast.
     
  20. Zbig

    Zbig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    I heard somewhere that the Class 6 seems to be the fastest card the phone would benefit from and that it's already faster than the internal phone reader allows while communicating with PC. I.e. faster card will work, of course, but you probably won't see any further speed increase over class 6. But I haven't verified that.
     
  21. MindTrainer

    MindTrainer Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    11
    I called HTC before buying my 16GB Card and asked what class the original 2GB card was and what speed I should buy. They actually advised be (after putting me on hold twice) that the phone (Hero) had issues with a class 6 card and that I should buy a class 4.

    After reading this thread it sure doesn't sound like anyone has had issues. I'm still OK with buying the class 4 instead of 6 because it cost me just over $40 rather then $60 for the class 6.

    Because I have tons of video ,music as well as photos there will never be a card with too much storage.
     
  22. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Thats why you pop the SD into the computer, instead of USB syncing.
     
  23. Zbig

    Zbig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    I was doing that on my Sony Ericsson where the card was accessible without prying the phone open. Here I'm afraid that over time the back cover might get loose or something. Maybe it's unfounded but I prefer to wait a little longer than to struggle with the back cover every time I want to copy something.
     
  24. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Thats why I only do it when transferring large files.
     
  25. badfrog

    badfrog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    10
    are there any brands of SD card to stay away from?
     

Share This Page

Loading...