Upgrading the G1General

Last Updated:

1. SmoothMarx

SmoothMarx Member This Topic's Starter

This is mainly a wishful thinking kinda thread but since I'm not a expert on these matters, I was wondering. Supposing the components are available for everyone, how hard would it be to upgrade the RAM and ROM on the phone? Upon replacing the components would Android recognize the boost?

Advertisement
  2. msimoens

msimoens Active Member

Being based on Linux, and using other builds for other phones with different specs, I should think that Android should be able to recognize any hardware changes.

Now good luck changing them. That's the hard point.

3. justjimjpc

justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

Considering that the memory is hard-soldered into the motherboard with all the main chips (memory, radio, etc) it unlikely that anyone with even good soldering skills and micro circuit techniques would even try to replace the existing memory chips (even if it another chip of larger capacity was available)

The most likely way if ever --- would be an entire swap of the motherboard assembly ...

4. GeoUSA

GeoUSA Well-Known Member

Not going for a "Well, duh!" reply here, but just in case the original poster or others do not realize it, the G1 has an upgradable flash memory MicroSDHC card. The factory card is 1 gb and I have upgraded mine to 8 gb. Some owners have reported success with 32 gb cards. The access door is on the left, lower side of the G1 near the green answer button. You simply copy all files/folders to your PC from the smaller flash card and then format (if needed) and copy them to the larger card.

5. msimoens

msimoens Active Member

I believe that wasn't what he was talking about 100% though

6. SmoothMarx

No, I was actually talking about upping the processor specs. I understand (not very well, though) that I can root the G1 and run my apps from the card, but that doesn't really speed up the phone itself, I think.