• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

urgent help

mkdon

Nov 25, 2016
hi guys

please go easy on my I am a complete newbie and not sure if this is even the right place for this thread. I was given a mx pro android box from a friend who no longer needed it and its in more or less brand new condition, when I connect it to my tv ( samsung ue40f6400) it causes the picture to go fuzzy and also keeps making the tv switch off and on. for what its worth i have a sky box, ps4 and now this android box connect to tv via hdmi. it is only since getting the android box the problem started. it stops if i unplug the box. is the box not compatible with my tv or is it to do with my settings?

There is only one reason that your box is behaving this way... but as none of us are at your house to try them all, we'll try to eliminate what isn't causing this problem!

First, we'll work on the hardware fixes...
If none of these work, we'll have a look at how we can force the connection to your TV through the settings.

Get the kettle on... it could be a long night!

FIRST: Does the Android TV box work with another TV in the house or your computer monitor (via HDMI)?
If you're given an Android TV box by a friend who, er... 'no longer needs it' and it's in 'more or less brand new condition', it may be a dud.

Don't be surprised by this - these devices are cheap and badly made and are very prone to faults.
If it turns out that the box is a dud, un-friend the cad and burn his house down.

NEXT: Are your devices connected to a power strip? or do they have their own direct wall sockets?
I suspect that they are all plugged into a strip... if this is the case, then get at least your TV OUT of the strip and give that plug it's own private spot on the wall.

Even better... can you test your devices when they are plugged into a UPS?