Usage in Puerto Rico?


Last Updated:

  1. goldrush28

    goldrush28 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    9
    Going to Puerto Rico next week for pretty much the whole month of March. I've talked to 3 people at Verizon and got 3 different answers. One said there is absolutely nothing I have to do. Everything will work fine. Another said I probably won't be able to use anything in some parts of the island. The third said I need to use the *228 trick and pay roaming charges. Does anyone have any experience with the Droid in Puerto Rico? Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    they have 3g coverage there dont worry about it. puerto rico is considered in network. it is a us territory. i go there atleast 3 times a year. i have tmo and there is no issue, but my cousin has verizon and he has no issues. you will be fine
     
  3. goldrush28

    goldrush28 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks, that's what I was hoping. Last year I had the LG Dare and I could use the phone, but e-mail, text, and internet didn't work. That, of course, was using Verizon's VCast which was worthless. Thanks again !
     
  4. TXLady

    TXLady Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    But, you may want to check the coverage on the map and make sure you have it where you want it. Coverage Locator - Verizon Wireless

    I think the person who told you that you won't be able to use anything in some parts of the Island may be the one with the correct answer. Hopefully, someone with Experience in trying to use Verizon in PR will be able to answer here. Also might help if you tell us where in PR you are going. Sort of like saying you're going to Texas -- varies widely depending on exactly where.
     
  5. boatman

    boatman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    15
    I was in San Juan 2 years ago with my BB, and phone worked fine, but got no data. Hopefully changed since 2 years ago on the data side. All the hotels in the area have free wifi in the lobby, but at the nicer ones, you pay for it in your room (i hate that if you stay at the hilton you pay lots for the room and extra for wifi, gym, etc etc., but if you stay at a hampton inn, you pay less for the room and everything is free!)
     
  6. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    there are certain parts of the island that are rural and obviously have no coverage or no data coverage . but i bet you will be in a populated area and not in the mountains riding a goat.. in which case you will be fine.. lmao. if im good with tmo, im sure you will be fine with bigred. by the way when i had my iphone i had 3g in almost 90 percent of the areas i went to and i travel all over the island when im there
     
  7. goldrush28

    goldrush28 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    9
    We stay in San Juan. I'm not worried there. We do, however, cover every inch of the island from Fajardo to Ponce and more. I expect to encounter some breaks in the mountains or possibly Cabo Roja but I can deal with that. At least I know my GPS works everywhere. Thanks again. By the way, Puerto rico is closer in size to Connecticut than Texas.
     
  8. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    cobo rojo will be covered no worries. its a populated area. the uncovered areas are the mountains and mostly central area.fjardo, ponce san juan are obviously bigger cities. san juan being number one and ponce number 2 on the island.. lol
     
  9. TXLady

    TXLady Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes, I know size wise. I was just pulling up first state that came to mind which is always Texas. Connecticut is much smaller than Texas but I think the same thing could be said "varies widely depending on exactly where."
     
  10. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    more like long island.....
     
  11. goldrush28

    goldrush28 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hmmm- I always thought Longisland was one word. Thanks everyone for your help.
     
  12. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    could be if ya want it to be :)
     
  13. Krlos

    Krlos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went to P.R the last year and i didn't have any data since I departed from the plane. ..
     
  14. potatolover1102

    potatolover1102 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    12
    Read my posts about the new prl and check the new verizon coverage map! It is much better!
     

Share This Page

Loading...