USB connection not recognized after rooting


Last Updated:

  1. Enigma_Kid

    Enigma_Kid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry if this question may have been answered in a different thread but I don't really have enough time right now to look it up.
    After I rooted my Captivate, it could still pick up the USB connection to the computer. A little while later it stopped showing the USB symbol and did not recognize the connection at all.
    I would really want to know if there is a way to fix this.
    Thank you for taking the time to respond to my issue.
     

    Advertisement
  2. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    have you tried a battery pull yet?
     
  3. Enigma_Kid

    Enigma_Kid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I have. Multiple times in fact =/
     
  4. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    does your phone still charge or anything when its plugged into
    the computer?
    wall charger?
    have you tried plugging anything else into your computers usb drive may have gone bad
     
  5. Enigma_Kid

    Enigma_Kid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    It charges when connected to the computer and wall charger yes.
    I have plugged it into a different computer and it still does not recognize the USB.
    I have plugged other devices into the USB drive of the computer and they work fine =/
     
  6. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    hmmm very odd indeed. are you using the cable that came with the captivate? they say some cables bought from att only charge and do not work as data cables
     
  7. Enigma_Kid

    Enigma_Kid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I am using the original cables with the Captivate =/
     
  8. CrimsonPride

    CrimsonPride Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    200
    wow it gets weirder.

    i guess the only thing i can think of now is to check to see what usb mode it is in
     
  9. Enigma_Kid

    Enigma_Kid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I set it on ask upon connection and also I tried turning on USB debug and it still doesn't register =/
     
  10. Enigma_Kid

    Enigma_Kid Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    would it help if I mentioned that I have clockworkmod from rom manager?
     
  11. joshka89

    joshka89 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    you must go into settings > applications > USB settings and select "Ask on Connection"
    Then plug it in, select Mass Storage.
    Then you will get the prompt to mount USB.

    I had the same issue
     

Share This Page

Loading...