USB Connection Problems Behold 2Support


Last Updated:

  1. Big Dog KMc

    Big Dog KMc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    7
    Here is a question I cant seem to find an answer for.

    I have 4 PC's

    the one at home is a gateway 2gh Pentium 4 running windows XP home SP-3

    The 3 at work
    one is a pentium 350 running XP Pro SP-3
    one is a pentium 2 1gh running 2000 Pro SP-3
    other is a Dell Precision 330 Pentium 4 running 2000 Pro SP-3

    The only one that connects through the USB driver and allows Odin to see The phone is the one at home. I got this one from my dad and has way too much stuff installed.

    The 3 PC's at work go thru all the steps installing the USB drivers fine until I connect the phone in Download mode (USB Debugging on) and Odin does not see it.

    In the Hardware/Device Manager in windows it shows under Samsung Modem "Unable to start device (Code 10)"

    Anyone see/Here this one before and what to do about it. I could just use the PC at home but I have like 99% more time at work to try this flashing of roms.

    I have downloaded the drivers many times from different sources.
    made no difference.
     

    Advertisement
  2. mingkee

    mingkee Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5
    You need adb driver installed to make it work, which is NOT included with kies software.
    Check device manager to see is there any "unknown device".
     
  3. Big Dog KMc

    Big Dog KMc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    7
    All the Drivers are installed. I used them from 4 different roms that come with them as well as the downloadable one itself. It clearly shows the driver is working when I look in the hardware manager in windows Thats how i see this

    under Samsung Modem "Unable to start device (Code 10)"

    Somthing else is missing I just cant find

    I thought it might be that the 3 work machines did not have
    .Net Framework installed but after installing them it too made no difference.
     
  4. mingkee

    mingkee Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5
    Did you change USB mode to Samsung Studio?
     
  5. Big Dog KMc

    Big Dog KMc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    7
    No. But I did not change that setting for my home machine and it connects fine. the only usb setting that needs to be set is the one in the,

    Settings/Application settings/Development/USB Debugging.

    It needs to be turned on, Which I did.
     
  6. eschnit81

    eschnit81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    17
    Are you using the cable samsung provided at work, or are you using something else, i.e. a cable for a blackberry?
     
  7. suyash1

    suyash1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    19
    i dont think cable should matter because i use both samsung and moto cable and both work flawlessly
     
    Big Dog KMc likes this.
  8. eschnit81

    eschnit81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    17
    I had problems using aftermarket cables, though I never tried one from motorola. What I mainly noticed was that if you look at the plug from the front ( same way it plugs into the phone) the samsung cable has two tiny little cut-outs on it, where the blackberry cable and other cables (think I got one from radioshack and one from Fry's Electronics,) did not. I don't know what they are or what they do. But I was basically out of commission till I got a new samsung cable. I wonder if the moto cable has them?
     
  9. Big Dog KMc

    Big Dog KMc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    7
    Nope. I use the original cable.
     
  10. eschnit81

    eschnit81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    17
    That IS pretty weird. I never messed with windows 2000, but it most definitely should work on xp sp3. The only thing that catches my attention between the one you are running at home and the xp machine you are running at work is the processor. Thats just a pentium 350?
     
  11. Big Dog KMc

    Big Dog KMc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    7
    I cant see why that should make a difference. All the system and its software .dlls and the like still work. XP specific software still works.

    Now The only other thing that might influence this is that the machine at home has Samsung Printer software installed on it. None of my work machines have this.

    I cant bring my printer here and I dont think the Printer Driver CD will install without it being connected.
     
  12. eschnit81

    eschnit81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    17
    Ya, its slow, but it SHOULD still work. Not sure about the samsung printer software, I don't have it and I'm currently running win7 32 bit. I was on xp pro sp3 and it worked then. Do you have admin privileges on the xp machine at work?
     
  13. Big Dog KMc

    Big Dog KMc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    7

    Yes.
     
  14. eschnit81

    eschnit81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    17
    Well, I'm outta ideas. It doesn't make sense. If you have the drivers, and you have admin privileges, then wtf!? Unless all your usb ports are magically failing simultaneously(which I highly doubt,) you should be able to do pretty much whatever. My heart goes out to you, man.
     
    Big Dog KMc likes this.
  15. Big Dog KMc

    Big Dog KMc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    7

    Thanks.
     
  16. TheKrell

    TheKrell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    Did I see W2000 above? I too cannot connect my BH2 in USB mode to my W2000 computer. The computer beeps, a new disk shows up in Explorer, but I only get an error message when I try to access it. I can use ODIN to flash it, so some apps can definitely access the phone.

    Trying XP next.
     
  17. TheKrell

    TheKrell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    No go. I installed the ADB USB drivers without error. My phone is set to USB storage mode, and USB debug is on, and I just double-checked. When I plug in my BH2, a disk appears in the removable storage area of Explorer. But just like my W2K machine, when I try to examine files, it says "Please insert a disk in drive X". What am I doing wrong? These drivers work fine for Odin!
     
  18. behold_guy

    behold_guy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here read my other post you may need to disable driver signing in xp and 2000 its a new "security feature" from Microsoft that prevents the computer from using any device that does not have a certified driver from Microsoft.

    Heres a link to my post where I describe how to get computers to see behold 2:
    Click here
     

Share This Page

Loading...