USB Tethering not working in 4G/3G after updateSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Scooterman1

    Scooterman1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    9
    Updated the phone. The tethering used to work on 3G, and 4G. It only works on WiFi now.
    When I connect a USB cable from my Notebook, it disconnects from 4G, or 3G (whichever mode that I have it on), immediately tries to reconnect, but gets this error:
    Data Call Failure
    Error Code 67.Registration failure. Your PCS Vision username and/or password may be incorrect. Please try again.
    This is with the HTC USB default tethering. It's the same result with Easy Tether.
    Is anyone else having this problem? If not, does anyone know what may be causing this? I have Reset the phone to Factory Default with the same result.
     

    Advertisement
  2. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39
    looks like sprint locked it down. you can use easy tehter (i couldn't get it to work) or pdanet (i did get this work). you connect to the pc, select charge only and make sure you have usb debugging turned on.

    when you connect via teh usb tether option, it shuts down 4g and 3g. sucks.
     
    Scooterman1 likes this.
  3. toeknee76

    toeknee76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3

    so, pdanet still works? thats awesome, i just connected this yesterday and was wondering if it still worked after froyo. i cant wait to get home and try it!
     
  4. mkampy

    mkampy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    24
    pda net worked, but was relatively slow. (full bar 3G)

    If I can I will go to my 4G(3bar) area, and try it again during lunch, and give results.
     
  5. mkampy

    mkampy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    24
    deleted for redundancy
     
  6. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    They indeed locked it down, as they should.
     
  7. swatpup102

    swatpup102 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    19
    PDANet working well for me, no issues at all after the froyo update.
     
  8. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39
    Thats debatable
     
  9. Mongoos150

    Mongoos150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    12
    Anyone else have Froyo speed reports with PDAnet?
     
  10. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39

    i was pulling 1.3-1.4 download speeds last night. not good at all. on 2.1 with internet sharing, i was pulling 4+ on a regular basis.

    the network in general seemed slow last night. seems faster today. i did pull 9.11 megs down on teh evo, but not tethered. will report back tonight with updated pdanet speeds
     
  11. Scooterman1

    Scooterman1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    9
    PdaNet does work. Somewhat slower using SpeedTest.net on the Computer than using it on the EVO. But again, the good news is that it works. Maybe Easy Tether will be able to come up with a Fix.
     
  12. Scooterman1

    Scooterman1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    9
    The 4G was unbelievably slow in Houston, Tx in areas, until the day before the 2.2 Update. I have been working on this with Premier Care, AND Upper Technical Support for about 5 weeks.

    I ran them a little bit ago. I wish I would have done a screen capture. Maybe later.
    4G with PDA Net on Computer running around 6.3 MB/S download now.
    4G on EVO running around 8.3 now.

    I hope this helps.

    P.S.- Until the day before the upgrade, it ran around 2.5 MB/s on EVO. This was max. It started around 700 KB/S 5 weeks ago and steadily rose over time.
     
  13. Scooterman1

    Scooterman1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    9
    Other than argument, what do you base this quote on?

    Why even bother having it in there, and stating they were changing it from Internet Sharing to USB Tethering? Why state that if they were going to lock it down except for paying the $30/mo. And why would they want to have Verizon have it open and not Sprint. Not unless Verizon has disabled it also.
    I can kinda see why they would want to charge $30 for an 8 Hub Hotspot. USB Tethering would be almost usless to advertise if they are going to charge $30/mo for that also.
     
  14. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    No it's not. Using their app you should expect to pay for the service as they clearly state ahead of time. There are software alternatives.
     
  15. heavychevy

    heavychevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    162
    I am using easytether via my phone (turned off wireless on computer) to send this message on my computer. Do not set your phone to USB tether. Just set it to disk drive. But it works fine.


    pwnst*r - I do not agree, USB tethering had nothing to do with the services of the phone, they should NOT lock it down. The more they lock down, the more apple-like they become. They offer a wireless tether for several devices. THAT should be locked down. Wired tether should not. Period.
     
    Karl_in_Chicago likes this.
  16. heavychevy

    heavychevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    162
    Oh I may need to add that I'm on .3 and not .6 though. If they have locked it down in .6 all the better that I'm on .3. I'd be ticked without my usb tether.
     
  17. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39

    From a sprint persepctive it might make sense to lock it down (get more hot spot sign ups), from a consumer perspective, it sucks that they locked it down. (gotta pay for hot spot or a thrid party app)

    so yes, it's debatable depending on if you are sprint or the consumer.

    so at the end of the day, they have cost me and a number of other people 10-20 bucks and they haven't helped their bottom line, at least not from us. I'm sure some people will sign up for the hot spot now.
     
  18. mbell75

    mbell75 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    77
    This is stupid. What was the point of including this feature if Sprint will just make it non useable?
     
  19. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39

    to get $30 per month from you. :p

    or make you pay for pdanet (or other software of that style)
     
  20. mbell75

    mbell75 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    77

    They already have $60 a month from me for this lame Overdrive that only works well on occasion, so they can suck it.
     
  21. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    I can understand that point of view as well.
     
  22. heavychevy

    heavychevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    162
    Comon, we all know it will get rooted and people will still be running hotspot as they already are. And I mean the full hotspot, not just wired tethering. They people they are getting money from are the same people they would have been getting money from anyways. People that have to have it and don't care what their phone bill is.
     
    GirlGoneGeek likes this.
  23. *king*

    *king* Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    i just went to the verizon site and priced out a incredible and its 20.00 bux for the hotspot, so verizon charges also
     
  24. Scooterman1

    Scooterman1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    9
    For Hotspot, but how about charging. Is Verizon charging for that when the update hits? That is the question.

    Verizon adjusted their ETF to over $300 (I think it's about $350 per phone)
    AT&T - 1 month later AT&T adjusted theirs from $175 to $325.
    about 1 month later:
    AT&T put a 5GB cap on Data.
    1 month later, there was a rumor that Verizon was going to do the same.
    Why isn't the FCC investigating Price Fixing? Just wondering.......
     
  25. BWinc

    BWinc Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    PDANet works for me. But I'm having a problem using MS VPN to connect.
     

Share This Page

Loading...